Bug Lady Tofu Pate Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was really delicious. Since I am completey lazy, I threw it all in the food processor. Only sub I made was some red pepper flakes instead of fresh red pepper and dried dill. Didn't measure exactly.. will made again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2009
added 1 more clove of garlic, added 1 carrot, no garlic powder, chilli flakes for chilli pepper & used cuisinart to blend it all. Let it set, delicious! great on toast, dip for chips or veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2008
It was good! I had to add more of the seasonings at the end, you have to tweak to your preference with this dish i think. I also could only find Extra Firm and Firm Lite so I combined the two. it was really very good. Boyfriend ate half of it before dinner was ready. Great with crackers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2007
I've made this a few times, and now have it perfected. Use firm tofu rather than silken, you'll get a firmer, more speadable texture. Use the food processor, again, texture. Use two cloves of real garlic, not that revolting powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2006
I took KVCHAN's advise however I am trying to eat dairy free so I did a couple twists to it. I doubled all the spices, I did not add the paprika, dill or the parsley instead I added more cilantro, and I used all green peppers (I am a college student and the other colored pepper are too expensive). I did not add carrots although I may next time. I substituted the mayo with a dairy free soy bean based sour cream. Instead of dry mustard I used added regular mustard. I did not use any eggs.I did add a tablespoon of olive oil and balsamic vinegar to the mix. I used soft tofu. It turned out GREAT!!! Happy eating!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
not bad, a bit bland - i added some blue cheese salad dressing (i was hosting a party for goodness sakes - it had to be salvaged) and it turned out quite a bit better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2003
It came out great with a few modifications. i doubled all the spices, i did not add the paprika, dill or the parsley instead i added more cilantro, added red bell peppers and carrots. i also substituted the mayo with sour cream. instead of dry mustard i added regular mustard. i also boiled three eggs and added those of course without the yolks. oops i almost forgot i added some olive oil and balsamic vinegar to the veggies before adding the tofu. i also used extra firm tofu instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
My husband and I loved this. It's a fast, easy recipe and great served with crackers. I might use a little less green pepper next time, but that is what is fun about this recipe, it's very flexible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2002
I really liked this recipe because of the garlic! My only change was I omitted the celery and bell pepper, used some celery seed and it was delicious and smooth. Perfect on crackers. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
I thought this was to bland. I did not add all the garlic, may be that was the reason. I did try to zip it up with chopped green onion and horseradish but it didn't work. It went better with baked chip than raw veggies. My husband and I ate it but everyone else didn't like it very much. I guess we're a bit more adventurous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tofu Turkey I

See how to make a stuffed and basted vegan Thanksgiving "turkey."

How to Cook with Tofu

See all you can do with this healthy, power-packed protein.

The Best Fresh Tomato Salsa

See how to make a simple fresh salsa from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States