Buffy's Refried Beans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
Oh my gosh! I can't believe I have been wasting my time cooking the beans from scratch. This recipe is so easy and absolutely delicious! I added a bit of minced garlic, onions and a pinch of oregano. I then wrapped it up in a flour tortilla, poured enchilada sauce over the top and sprinkled it with cheese. Microwaved it to heat up the sauce and melt the cheese and garnished it with shredded lettuce, diced tomatoes and scallions. AMAZING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Finnoah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: La Grange, Illinois, USA
Living In: Paradise Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Made 2 batches 1 with butter and 1 with bacon grease as opposed to lard. Bacon grease was much better. Bland as is but with chicken broth subbed for water and some extra seasoning, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2014
Made for friends and the pot was emptied! Used bacon grease instead of lard. It's all I had from the morning breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2013
I think this is the first recipe I have rated on this website. I just loved these beans, just as the recipe is written. Use the lard and don't try dressing it up with all sorts of spices and such. They are like what you'll find in a restaurant, simple and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
just what I needed --thanks for submitting the recipe----yum yum no changes necessary on perfection
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
I agree with all the good reviews. I made these as my feeble attempt for a complete Mexican dinner. Fajitas and rice were so-so but these beans were outstanding. I always prefer beans over rice but not my husband - until tonight. He ate most of them and when the bowl was empty, he took a spoon to get every little morsel. I used lard and would recommend it. I found it by the shortening at the grocery store and it was very inexpensive. I only used one can of beans but in the future, I'll make at least two so we'll hopefully have some leftovers. I wonder if there is a Buffy's Fajita recipe. Would love to try it if there is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
Added some garlic and cumin. Very good. Used them for nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
They turned out perfectly! I never knew I could make refried beans at home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChancyW

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mineral Point, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Sierra Vista, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2013
I make my beans kinda like that...I use a stick of butter, a bunch or garlic and jalapeno to taste. I keep them from getting to thick by adding a bit of stock. At the last minute I add a bit of lime juice. Delish~ Top with cheese, sour cream and avocado. Eat with tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Refried Beans without the Refry

See how easy (and delicious) it is to make refried beans in your slow cooker!

Chef John's Sandy Beans

See how to take boring beans and make them suddenly exciting!

How to Make Beans and Greens

See how to make a rustic Italian-style beans and greens recipe with escarole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States