Buffalochef's Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Raine07
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
Everyone loved this pie. I recommend lightly beating the eggs before adding them to the mixture. And I'm not sure if it's because I'm in a low elevation or my oven temp is off, but it took about 60 min to cook the pie when I turned the heat down to 350 degrees. I used "Alan's Pie Crust" recipe for the crust and added rolled oats to the topping just because. Serve it warm with vanilla bean ice cream on the side-delicious!! I needed a recipe that didn't have gelatin as an ingredient and this worked out perfectly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raine07

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
Awesome recipe, I modified it only a little but the crystalized ginger gave it great flavor! First time I ever mad strawberry rhubarb pie, and it was eaten up quick!! Thanks Buffalochef! I gave you props on FB too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
I had never heard of a struesel topping being baked beneath a lattice crust. I tried it. Decent.... Now for me, here was the kicker. I only allow myself 45 grams of carbohydrates per meal. I had a slice of this pie, and had to give up 2 full meals, as one slice contained almost 90 grams of carbs. Never again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoCalguy

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Wonderful, wonderful pie! I love rhubarb (and who doesn't love strawberries?) but have never liked rhubarb/strawberry pie because it always seemed to be made with jello. So my rhubarb pie is a custard-based pie. I was excited to find this recipe and half expecting to be disappointed because I WAS so excited to find it, but this did not disappoint in the smallest way. This is now one of my favorites. Buffalochef, I have never met you but you are my friend. Thank you so much for sharing something wonderful with me. I will look for other recipes you have posted. Later, GF! Judith
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ColoradoGG

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zushi, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was a very delicious pie! I had to make a substitution to accommodate a person who is allergic to strawberries. Instead I used frozen raspberries and was very pleased with that result! Boysenberries would also work nicely with this lovely recipe! I have a funny story to add to this: I had just finished placing the lattice top and fluted the edges of the crust then pondered if I should brush the top with an egg wash. Suddenly, it occurred to me that I had forgotten to add the eggs to the fruit mixture! I literally hollered in frustration as I realized the eggs were absolutely necessary and considered the mess of pulling everything apart in order to mix them in! I mentally cast about for a remedy and then remembered my marinade injector syringe! I quickly beat the eggs and then sucked them into the injector! I injected them between the lattice-work and saw the yellow stuff squishing back up...Fortunately, it all worked out fine! The pie looked beautiful and no one was the wiser! The moral to the story is: Even when faced with a potential culinary disaster, there may be a simple solution right at hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Awesome recipe! Ginger adds a great flavor and the pie turned out great. Normally, I have trouble with rhubarb pies being runny but this one was perfect! My new go-to receipe for my favorite strawberry-rhubarb pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This recipe is amazing. Love the ginger and the streusel. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was my first attempt at a lattice top pie as well as my first attempt at a strawberry rhubarb pie. The flavors were wonderful but I did run into a few problems. 1) The crust cooks quickly and should have been completely covered with aluminum to prevent it from over cooking. I took the pie out early to prevent burning but then not all of the rhubarb was thoroughly cooked. 2) This is a very runny filling. I will probably add tapioca flour and reduce the number of eggs to 2. Also, I think it would be worth letting the fruit sit in the sugar in the fridge overnight and then straining out the excess juice. I will also be adding more fruit as I like my pies bulging with fruity goodness! Thanks for the great inspiration though. The crystalized ginger really makes this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Sooo Delicious! I got many compliments!!! Did not change a thing. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is a beautiful pie - the flavours work really well together. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out perfect. One of my guests, a friend for over 40 years, said this is the best pie you ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Cherry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart fruit pie with cherries and rhubarb.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States