Buffalochef's Strawberry Rhubarb Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2014
Live in Florida,so a friend of the family brought rhubarb from NY. I tried this recipe.Everyone enjoyed it and the pie was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This recipe is fantastic! I made it just as the directions said and it was a big hit. Although, you should plan to have a lot of time to put this whole thing together, especially if you make a homemade crust, which I did using this lovely recipe http://allrecipes.com/recipe/ruths-grandmas-pie-crust/detail.aspx
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LadyRae

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
We thought this was just ok. It didn't have the tartness that we like from rhubarb pie. I did use frozen rhubarb and strawberries, so that might be why. Or it could be from the spices, egg and lots of sugar. I did a latice top, I didn't cover it while baking and it didn't burn. For those that had burning issues, it could be your oven is hot. Mine is about 25 degrees hotter than what the dial says. Or it could be the crust I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
This is my first time to rate a recipe and this one definitely deserves 5 stars all the way! The ginger really adds great flavor so don't skip it~ I will definitely make this again and again! The only advice is to make sure you put the baking sheet underneath while the pie is baking, I put tin foil over a sheet and drippings still overflowed into the bottom of my oven... The pie was so good that the mess was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
This is a beautiful pie - the flavours work really well together. I followed the recipe exactly as written and it turned out perfect. One of my guests, a friend for over 40 years, said this is the best pie you ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
Sooo Delicious! I got many compliments!!! Did not change a thing. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This was my first attempt at a lattice top pie as well as my first attempt at a strawberry rhubarb pie. The flavors were wonderful but I did run into a few problems. 1) The crust cooks quickly and should have been completely covered with aluminum to prevent it from over cooking. I took the pie out early to prevent burning but then not all of the rhubarb was thoroughly cooked. 2) This is a very runny filling. I will probably add tapioca flour and reduce the number of eggs to 2. Also, I think it would be worth letting the fruit sit in the sugar in the fridge overnight and then straining out the excess juice. I will also be adding more fruit as I like my pies bulging with fruity goodness! Thanks for the great inspiration though. The crystalized ginger really makes this pie!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
This recipe is amazing. Love the ginger and the streusel. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Awesome recipe! Ginger adds a great flavor and the pie turned out great. Normally, I have trouble with rhubarb pies being runny but this one was perfect! My new go-to receipe for my favorite strawberry-rhubarb pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
This was a very delicious pie! I had to make a substitution to accommodate a person who is allergic to strawberries. Instead I used frozen raspberries and was very pleased with that result! Boysenberries would also work nicely with this lovely recipe! I have a funny story to add to this: I had just finished placing the lattice top and fluted the edges of the crust then pondered if I should brush the top with an egg wash. Suddenly, it occurred to me that I had forgotten to add the eggs to the fruit mixture! I literally hollered in frustration as I realized the eggs were absolutely necessary and considered the mess of pulling everything apart in order to mix them in! I mentally cast about for a remedy and then remembered my marinade injector syringe! I quickly beat the eggs and then sucked them into the injector! I injected them between the lattice-work and saw the yellow stuff squishing back up...Fortunately, it all worked out fine! The pie looked beautiful and no one was the wiser! The moral to the story is: Even when faced with a potential culinary disaster, there may be a simple solution right at hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda D.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb and Strawberry Pie

See how to make a wonderfully sweet and tart fruit pie.

Strawberry Rhubarb Custard Pie

See how to make a super-simple strawberry-rhubarb pie.

Rhubarb Strawberry Crunch

The rhubarb and strawberry dessert is sweet enough and goes great with ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States