Buffalo Wontons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Susan F.
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
these are incredible! the only thing i changed was that i baked 350 for 15 min. i will be making these again. hubby wants them served for his card club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan F.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boquete, Chiriquí, Panama

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I am the originator of the recipe. When I make my sauce, I use 2 Tablespoons (not teaspoons) of vinegar. It gives it just the right kick! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookin' Fool

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA
Photo by Kayla Kinney
Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
***If you want to bake them instead of frying*** DO NOT use 1/2 c butter- it makes a huge mess!! I had to blot them off, put them on a new pan and then cook them some more so that they were edible. If you are going to bake them use only 1 tablespoon butter- bake at 375- 350 for around 15- 20 mins. I also added some onion in my mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kayla Kinney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wellington, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2010
This recipe appeared too good to be true to wait until game day so having all the ingredients on hand we did a preview! I had saved half of a rotisserie chicken from my fav grocery store which cut waaaay down on prep time. Followed recipe didn't change a thing and it is beyond delicious. The vinegar and hot pepper sauce gave it just the right kick. I saw one grand child with one in each hand and wanted to take a photo but had to wait for batteries to be re-charged and by the time I got back to the camera, there were not enough wontons left on the platter to take a decent photo! Ranch dressing was the nibblers choice and I was informed that this could be a Super Bowl tradition any ole time I felt like it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2010
I love love love to make wontons. they are such a perfect/easy appetizer! These were great, i did make a few changes. I did not use the vinegar or butter. I just use franks red hot buffalo sauce. I also put some blue cheese and ranch dressing in the mixture along with some shredded cheese. I do not fry these either, i brush some olive oil on them and put them in the oven at 475 for 10 minutes! they come out awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Wow - these are worth the calories! I used only 1/4 cup of butter, and it didn't hurt the final product at all. I also sprayed the wontons with Pam after stuffing, then sprinkled with kosher salt and baked at 375° for 15 minutes. Served with blue cheese dressing - fantastic, everyone really loved them! Next time I try these, I will combine the cream cheese with the chicken filling before stuffing the wontons. Great recipe, perfect for watching football!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIERSA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Living In: Excelsior, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
These were great. I made them for a party last night, and everyone brought an appetizer, mine was the first to go. I made them the night before and baked them for 10 minutes, then refrigerated over night, then at the party, I baked them for 15 minutes. YUM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Lakemoor, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Awesome! I baked at 350 degrees instead of frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
So good!! Just made these for a potluck today! They where the 1st to go! Only thing I did different was that I didn't have time to let the sauce sit an hour so I just added the chicken right after it was done and I didn't fry them, I baked them at 350 degress for 10-20 mins. Will deffinatly be making these again very soon!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2010
I used this filling to wrap in phyllo triangles along with the spanikopita ones on the Smitten Kitchen site. They were a huge hit and not so hot that the kids couldn't enjoy them. (Use more hot sauce and less butter to make them hotter.) I used Frank's Hot Sauce, which is THE sauce to use for buffalo chicken. I also increased the amount of chicken in each triangle and, since I was using phyllo, I baked them at 375 for 25 minutes. I'm going to have to make these for every party now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 1-10 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States