Buffalo Style Chicken Pizza Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
Good recipe, but I made changes (I'd give my version 5 stars): 1)I pre-cooked the raw crust for 6-10 minutes or so 2)I didn't use a bottle of dressing. I just spread some dressing around on the crust until it looked covered, but not globbed on (maybe 1/2 cup?) and I used ranch because I like it better. 3) I put half mozz. cheese and half cheddar cheese on top of the pizza (to me, this pizza just called for some cheddar) along with chopped red onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
393 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Milford, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Wayne, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
My husband and I have been having "Pizza Tuesdays" for a few months now - ever since my aunt finally gave me the recipe for her homemade pizza dough. As I've been perfecting the art of making the perfect pizza crust, I try out a new topping combination every week - let me tell you, this beats them all! I used Ken's Steakhouse bleu cheese dressing (only 1/2 - 1 cup), Frank's Red Hot Buffalo Chicken Sauce on shredded chicken (works better on pizza than cubed, I think), and a mix of 1/2 cheddar, 1/2 mozzarella cheese - all things we had on hand. Delicious, delicious, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
252 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2005
This was sooo good! I've made it twice already. The first time I made it with "Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing" from this site. It was fabulous! The second time I made it with store bought dressing and it wasn't half as good. Use Bill's recipe. You won't be sorry. Also, the Boboli thick crust is way better for this recipe than the thin. As suggested, I used roasted chicken. Big time saver. Last, but not least, I used Lousianna Hot Sauce (1 1/2 tbls to 3 tbls butter). Just spicy enough. Will definately make this again, and again, and again....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
194 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2006
In answer to the previous reviewer's question about keeping the crust from getting soggy. Pre-cook the pizza shell for a few minutes, take it out of the oven and add your toppings. Works like a charm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2003
I love making this, with these changes it is even better..... For the sauce use about 3/4 cup Franks Red Hot (or any other hot sauce), 1 tbl margarine, 1 tbl honey or sweet and sour sauce (to calm down the heat some) and a dash of garlic salt. Also you can't have chicken wings without celery, so why have your chicken wing pizza without celery??? I cut up 3 or 4 stalks. Building the pizza as follows... wing sauce (spread like pizza sauce), diced chicken, dollops of blue cheese (3/4 of a 16 oz jar), celery and then the mozzarella. If your oven is hot enough the crust will not be soggy. Thanks for the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fredonia, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
My family loved it. I used high quality blue cheese dressing but only about 3/4 cup. I also used crumbled blue cheese with the mozz. Buffalo wing sauce is also key to this recipe. Hot sauce would not be as good. Using the wing sauce, the butter is not necessary. (wing sauce is hot sauce and butter typically)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
Ohh..this is soooo yummy! I loved the combination of flavors. I used the Pillsbury refrigerated pizza crust and partially baked it before I put any of the fillings on top. I'm not a big fan on blue cheese, so I subbed peppercorn ranch instead and didn't use near the full bottle...only about 3/4 of a cup. I didn't use the full 2 oz of hot sauce because I only had half a bottle and it tasted great!! I sprinkled some italian cheese on top and the cheddar directly on the crust so the dressing wouldn't make it soggy. What a great new idea for an old time favorite. Thanks so much Brown!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
Made this Friday night and all who ate it agreed that it was the best pizza they ever had! However, I did make a few changes: I made the crust from a recipe that I found on this site (Jay’s signature pizza crust) and brushed the crust with olive oil and minced garlic and baked for 10 minutes prior to topping. I cooked the chicken in Griffin’s Hot Buffalo Wing Sauce which is by far the best wing sauce I have ever had. I did not use a whole bottle of dressing just spooned all over the pizza on top of the cheese and chicken…it came out amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAWN316

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
I agree that the amount of Bleu Cheese listed in this recipe is too much. I took one commenter's advice and just spread a thin layer of it on the pizza dough, which helped a lot. I also disliked how the Boboli crust tasted the first time, so I picked up some fresh (but uncooked) pizza dough at the bakery section in a local market. That tasted MUCH better. I do have one caveat, though, with this pizza, and perhaps someone can give me some useful advice. I've made this twice, and both times, a good quarter of an inch underneath where the cheese meets the bread is soggy, and this just adds an unpleasant texture to the meal. Is there a way to get around this? For instance, putting the chicken above the cheese as opposed to directly on the crust? If I could fix that one thing, it would definitely bump this recipe up to 5 stars because I love the taste of it. I'd appreciate any help anyone could give!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2002
What a great recipe. So fast and easy. I also found that spreading just enough of the blue cheese dressing to cover the crust was better than using the whole bottle. Also, instead of just using regular hot sauce I used Texas Pete's Hot Wing Sauce. It kind of kicked it up a notch and gave the chicken a more authentic buffalo wing taste. This recipe will be used in my home often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,025) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Fingers

A lower-fat, baked version of spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Brick-Oven Pizza (Brooklyn Style)

See how to make authentic brick-oven cheese pizza from scratch.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States