Buffalo Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2014
Okay ... we got more than 4 dozen ... which is good, as we really like them! I did find that they needed more than 10 minutes in the oven. I didn't have enough raisins in the house, so we used cherry infused craisins - this was a wonderful addition to the recipe. I can see these are a GREAT base for all kinds of mix-ins!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Voluntown, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Well, I made golf ball size scoops - and still got 6 dozen! lol Substituted Splenda for the white sugar, and added 3 heaping teaspoons of cocoa because I only had about 2/3 cup chocolate chips. And, I used about 1 and 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour with the rest as white flour. Husband thought they were great and even commented they were good for him - he doesn't know about my substitutions...hehe and I'm not telling him. Also, increased cooking time by 2 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This recipe is delicious and it turns out perfect every time. I always get compliments and the cookies always go very quickly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2011
These turned out really good. I only made half a batch and I still got just over 5 dozen cookies. I made a couple minor adjustments: I used softened butter rather than melted margarine, a little less brown sugar (I didn't pack it in the measuring cup), corn flakes instead of raisin bran, and I switched the measurements for the raisins and the chocolate chips (for half a batch, I used 1/2 cup raisins and 1 cup choc. chips.) I also upped the oats and cornflakes by about 1/2 cup each. Oh, and I used pecans instead of walnuts, since I'm allergic to walnuts. I think these would be good with other dried fruit and perhaps some spices like cinnamon as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This is the best recipe but I use the Splenda brown sugar (half the amount it calls for) and I use cornflakes instead of raisin bran (raisins are too sweet for us) and I omit the extra raisins and substitute slivered almonds ...I use unsweetened coconut and whole wheat flour ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
This is a very super duper big good cookies. I like it, don't care if one of the reviewer complaints about the calories. I use molasses to replace the brown sugar and only use 1/2 of white sugar called in the recipe. (I halved the recipe so for me it was 1/2cup). I make mine extra large, 10cm in diameter (view photo). Thanks for sharing, will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by o.d

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Ipoh, Perak, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
Good way to use up raisin bran, but I did customize to lower sugar and fat--a little. They turned out really great and picky 10 year old, who can't stand raisins or raisin bran, loves them. I cut sugar by 1-1/2 cups by using 1 c brown, and 1 c white, and 1/2 cup agave syrup; I cut fat a teeny bit by using 1/2 c butter, 1 c butter flavored shortening, and--lacking applesauce--using 1/2 c pureed pumpkin (really!). I reduced flour to 3-1/2 cups and added an extra cup of raisin bran. And finally, fearing pumpkin taste, added 3 T baking cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
These are great! I am always asked for the recipe when I share them with others. Here are my tweaks: Reduce amount of raisins to your preference, there are already lots of them coming from the Raisin Bran cereal. Really stuff the measuring cup with lots of coconut. Increase walnuts to 3/4 cup. Use dark chocolate chips instead of semi-sweet. Resist the temptation to increase the amount of chocolate chips. Make the cookies whatever size you like. They don't have to be huge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIEKAE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saginaw, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Next time you make this recipe, try using Splenda's brown sugar and Splenda for Baking as a substitute for the sugars. The calorie count goes way down!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
These were not bad. A little too sweet for my taste. I, personally, would have liked a richer, more buttery flavored cookie. It's ok...my thighs really didn't need them anyway. My four sons liked them, so that works for me!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Coconut Buffalo Chip Cookies

Chocolate cookies with corn flakes, chocolate chips, coconut flakes and raisins.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake the perfect chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States