Buffalo Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2003
Anyone with any knowledge of cooking, especially if you've ever eaten buffalo wings, would know that a half teaspoon of hot sauce is ridiculous!! The hot sauce is always the main ingredient. It would make more sense if the butter and hot sauce were reversed. I would say you would need close to a half cup of hot sauce. The way true buffalo wings are made is to deep fry them first and then put them in a bowl and slather them with the sauce and serve with the blue cheese dressing. That's it--ask anyone in Buffalo. If a recipe sounds ridiculous, then alter it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2002
The recipe calls for waaaaaay too much of almost everything! After I made this I had enough blue cheese dressing left over to cover at least two large salads! Cut everything in half and you'll do fine. There was also waaaaay too much butter. If you use this much you'll waste at least half. Cut that down as well. Then there's not near enough hot sauce. If you just want buttery chicken wings, I guess the recipe's okay, but if you want buffalo wings - use at least 3, yes I said 3, TABLESPOONS of hot sauce. Outside of all that - it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
im sitting here cooking these things for the first time and i've been cooking them for like an hour and they are still not done. I am thourughly dissapointed!!!!! Your recipe said 15-20; whats up with that?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
I was disappointed with these. I made them for a party and they didn't go over as well as I hoped. They weren't spicy enough, and seemed to swim in butter. Next time I'd broil them instead of bake, and marinade in the sauce first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2001
Very good, liked it at all. They are not really spicy though, so it might not be for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I used this recipe because I thought baking would enhance the crispy/saucy flavor. WRONG! Frying is certainly the way to go--- all the way! The sauce totally lost itself after baking and I'll bet it wouldn't have if I hadn't baked them. But as everyone else has said, the bleu cheese dip is uber yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These are good but the original as per food network is butter hot sauce and red wine vinager.Deep fry to golden brown,drain on paper towels then put sauce in large bowl add wings and toss to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This is pretty good. I altered the recipe tho I used Frank's Red Hot Sauce , which I heated with butter. Do be careful of sodium intake. Frank's is pretty salty and so is salted butter. My lil mistake. The blue cheese dipping for me at least came out awesome. If you don't have a deep fryer like myself or don't want to use a lot of oil. About half a cup in a frying pan high heat. Do not overcrowd your pan it will drop the tem and your wings will be soggy. Basically once you start to see some colour take em out and follow the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I believe there was a mistake in copying this recipe. It should have been 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 CUP hot sauce. That is the basic recipe, then the ratio of these two ingredients to each other are adjusted according to how hot you like your wings and how hot your hot sauce is. Also-wings can vary greatly in size, some very small, and some so huge you'd think they were turkey wings. Average wings fry about 15 min. at 375 degrees to be done, without the additional oven time, so if your wings are huge, fry them longer, maybe 12 minutes, before you bake them. These are good wings even without the S&P. I like to sprinkle them with cayenne pepper and a little garlic powder before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sharon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I only made the Blue Cheese dressing, the wing recipe sounds good but I agree with the other reviewers in that it sounds like not enough hot sauce - as for the Blue Cheese MMMMM!!! I love Blue Cheese dressing, so this is a great dressing/dip - but be aware it does make a lot so be prepared to be eating it for a while!!!! (just keep making lots of chicken wings!!!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States