Buffalo Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
I feel 1/2 teaspoon hot pepper sauce was not even close to giving me the color let alone the taste. Am I missing something here?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
I wish I had read the last few reviews before settling on this recipe. It took me two hours to make them, and they were not buffalo wings. I added way more hot sauce than the recipe called for and all I could taste was the butter. My fiance said they were okay, but I'm not a big fan of greasy food, so I hated them. Overall, this was not a good experience.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I only made the blue cheese dressing as I wanted to first try out another wings recipe. The dip is divine!! I will keep on hand the ingredients and make it on a regular basis. As I didn't have everything on hand I used fresh sage instead of parsley and added a teaspoon of sugar. It is a lot so we had the leftovers with KFC Zinger wings, which also worked like a bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
These are good but the original as per food network is butter hot sauce and red wine vinager.Deep fry to golden brown,drain on paper towels then put sauce in large bowl add wings and toss to coat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
This is pretty good. I altered the recipe tho I used Frank's Red Hot Sauce , which I heated with butter. Do be careful of sodium intake. Frank's is pretty salty and so is salted butter. My lil mistake. The blue cheese dipping for me at least came out awesome. If you don't have a deep fryer like myself or don't want to use a lot of oil. About half a cup in a frying pan high heat. Do not overcrowd your pan it will drop the tem and your wings will be soggy. Basically once you start to see some colour take em out and follow the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kitters82
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
This is a great recipe. We had all the ingredients at home and didn't have to shop for anything. I did just as the recipe said, except for the sauce, I did 1/4 cup butter with 1/2 cup hot sauce. I used a generic grocery store hot sauce. I first deep fried my wings for 8-9 minutes. Than after the sauce mixture got warm, I tossed the wings in a bowl with the sauce. I baked the wings for 20 minutes and Turned them twice between the time; adding hot sauce to the top of the wings from the bottle each time. After that 20 minutes was done, I turned the oven on broil 3 minutes on each side; again every time I turned the wings added more hot sauce. I noticed a lot of the reviews said the wing sauce was not HOT enough and I love my wings spicy so I added enough to generously coat them. The picture to this recipe was added by us, first time making them and they were AMAZING! Again, great recipe haven't made the blue cheese dressing yet but we will the next time we make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitters82

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New Germany, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I used this recipe because I thought baking would enhance the crispy/saucy flavor. WRONG! Frying is certainly the way to go--- all the way! The sauce totally lost itself after baking and I'll bet it wouldn't have if I hadn't baked them. But as everyone else has said, the bleu cheese dip is uber yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2008
I practically grew up at the Anchor Bar in Buffalo NY the originators of buffalo wings and I know the true original recipe and all I will say is that the brand of hot sauce is important also a very important ingredient in the shaking sauce is missing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
I believe there was a mistake in copying this recipe. It should have been 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 CUP hot sauce. That is the basic recipe, then the ratio of these two ingredients to each other are adjusted according to how hot you like your wings and how hot your hot sauce is. Also-wings can vary greatly in size, some very small, and some so huge you'd think they were turkey wings. Average wings fry about 15 min. at 375 degrees to be done, without the additional oven time, so if your wings are huge, fry them longer, maybe 12 minutes, before you bake them. These are good wings even without the S&P. I like to sprinkle them with cayenne pepper and a little garlic powder before frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sharon, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2007
The blue cheese dip recipe is amazing! I made it with light mayo and light sour cream and it was fabulous! Great as a veggie dip... to use it as a salad dressing I would thin it out with a little milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Scott’s Famous Chicken Wings

Watch a Buffalo native reveal his secret recipe for authentic chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States