Buffalo Chicken Wings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
From the "inventor": The ingredients are key... allrecipes didn't mention my notes (if you want to taste them the way I intended). Instead of "3/4 cup tomato sauce", use 1/2 cup plus 1 tablespoon "no salt added" tomato sauce (proportion is critical), Franks Red hot cayenne sauce (nice vinegar/pepper balance), Tone's Chili powder (seems to have proportionally less salt than average). I usually deep fry the wings for 10 minutes. Baking is lower fat, but 30 minutes is a probably a little too short. I like spicy food, and with the called for 1 tsp ground cayenne with the other proportions gives a good "bite" IMHO. Hope you all enjoy... thanks for the nice comments!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Excellent!!!! However, I did change the recipe to: 1 bottle Franks (12 oz), 1 (8 oz) can Hunts No Salt Tomato Sauce, 1/3 cup Unsalted Butter, 4 dashes Cayenne & 1 1/2 Tbsp Chili Powder. Baked in preheated 400 F oven for 45 min - dipped in sauce which I boiled over med. temp for 5 min.; replaced on clean 11 x 17 pan, baked add'l 15 min, Dipped again in remaining sauce, baked for 10 min. Then removed from oven and the meat was sooooo tender! (Probably should bake on a broiler pan to keep as much fat separated from chicken to make crispier) But loved it - all my guests raved and asked for the recipe! Hurray for a tasty buffalo wings that you can bake and not have to fry! Thanks for all the reviews who contributed to the outcome of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
244 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKERAMA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
First time I ever made these. Did half by baking and the other by grilling. Baking is totally the way to go. Used only drumettes. Baked the wings for 30 minutes at 400 (using the broiler pan to drain the fat) and after 30 minutes basted with the sauce. The sauce: omitted the tomato sauce and used hot wing sauce (Wing-Time), garlic and butter. Also added in the cayenne pepper and chili powder (Also added in 1 tblsp Chili Garlic sauce which they serve at Thai restaurants). Mixed with a wisk. We like it very spicy, lips are still burning. Cooked for 5 minutes more, added another layer of sauce, cooked another 5 minutes at 300. Then used the leftover sauce for dipping (if you dare) and cut up some celery and added ranch dressing. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
134 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2002
These are SOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO good! I could live eating just Buffalo Wings. I added some honey, worchestershire sauce and chili sauce to the mixture to give it a sweet and spicy taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hartini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2007
I never write reviews but I thought these wings were fantastic! I followed the recipe pretty much exactly, using Franks Red Hot as the submitter suggested. I used all drumettes,and I might add that the sauce was enough to do an entire frozen 4 lb bag of drummettes. My only regret is that I only did 24 drummettes instead of the whole bag. We easily could've eaten the whole bag--once thawed and cooked they shrink a lot. I did follow another person's advice and after the frist 45 min bake, I dipped them in suace and placed in a clean dish for the remaining bake time. I served with celery, ranch dressing and cornbread. I will be serving these a lot! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2006
My husband lives for hot and spicy ... he loves these! I did change it some ... I added more chili powder and cayenne pepper . I made a half of batch the first day ... the sauce didn't seem to coat real thick . I had the remaining sauce in the fridge overnight to make the rest the next day ... after being in the fridge overnight the sauce was MUCH thicker and coated very nicely , so from now on I will mix the sauce a day ahead . Also my husband said they were not " messy " enough for wings so I actually dipped them one more time when I took them out of the oven ... I got a thumbs up on the recipe after that and it has now become the one I will always use for his wings
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2005
DELICIOIUS!! This is THE BEST Hot Wing recipe!!! You've got to try it....easy to put together, better than fried. Don't add the cayenne unless you want your eyes to water.....it's got plenty of kick without it - too much for kids unless they're used to it. I still can't believe how great they were - definitely going to make it again this weekend!! Thanks Walt!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2006
I thought these were great. I did bake at 400 for 45 minutes, then at 250 for about 10 minutes after adding sauce. To make sure they were crispy I broiled them for the last 5 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
This was excellent. I cooked the wings 45 minutes at 400 degrees and after dipping in the sauce , put them back for 15 minutes at the same temperature. This made them crispy (but still not as crispy as the ones that are deep fried but we try to watch our fat so we settled for this). I usually buy the baking bags with the seasoning in them specifically for buffalo wings but this was much better and less expensive. They were very spicy but not unbearably so.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynchburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
Like to have your house smell like greasy chicken? How about your cloths? And, it really does a number on the inside of your oven! Don't bother, order out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States