Buffalo Chicken Wings III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
A good recipe to go off of! I followed it exactly the first time (with extra spicy Frank's), and it was delicious! However, I would like it more spicy. It seems like it can be easily modified, so I think next time I'll try sautéing some garlic and peppers in the butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ESJESSI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
Very good. I used this recipe as the basis for some chicken strips (I alter most of the recipes to what we have in the kitchen). I've never used tomato sauce before, and I was a little concerned that the sauce was going to come out, well, tomato-y. It didn't make it taste that way at all, and it did bulk up the sauce, so we didn't have to use as much hot sauce but somehow the spice was still there, even before I added the following spices: Cavender's Greek Seasoning, black pepper, minced jalapenos, and garlic powder, as well as the butter, hot sauce, chili powder and cayenne that the recipe calls for (sorry, I didn't measure anything). It turned out very spicy, and all of our guests loved it. We are going camping this weekend, and a friend of mine requested that I make it and bring it. He said "We'll put it on something. We'll just dip chips in it if we have to".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sagely

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Phillipsburg, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
great we all love them but i added tobasco to make it hotter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by natalie
Photo by StayHomeCook
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2008
UPDATE: To cure the swimming in grease problem, try what I do: first, cook the wings on your broiler pan (or any other setup where the grease can drain off,like a cooling rack over a cookie sheet), then after dipping in the sauce, cook again on a foil-lined cookie sheet to save some messy clean-up. As you can see from the picture, they come out very crisp with absolutely no greasy mess. This was my first time making hot wings. They turned out so great I had to submit a picture! I followed Walt's suggestions from his review, using Frank's Buffalo wing sauce and exact tomato sauce meas. I also added a bit of honey, garlic and onion powder and doubled the chili powder. Next time I will make sure to have cayenne on hand to turn the heat up a little. 2-1/2 lbs of wings were gone in 20 min and there were only 3 of us eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StayHomeCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Escondido, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2008
I didn't change the recipe at all and it was fantastic. I'm excited to make this for my next get-together with friends. Of course, any time you make chicken with the skin on (as wings have) it's going to be a greasy. However, I love this indulgence that is better than deep fried wings without much difference in taste. Update: I tried further cutting down the grease by putting the wings on an oven-proof "cooling" rack, and put the rack over a pan with sides. That way the grease dripped off as the wings baked. It's the only way I'll bake wings now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ryan, Iowa, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
We enjoyed this recipe during SuperBowl XLII...Everyone Raved! Thanks for this keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
This was excellent! I didn't find any wings at the store so I used legs instead and they still turned out great! Because of the size difference, I baked for about 10-15 longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by EdPeters1
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
Ok update. These wings are awesome! We have made them many times since my last review and I wanted to make sure people know they are the bomb. We use Hot Mexican-style chili powder and I think it adds a smoky flavor to the wings. These are incredibly easy to make and are so good and what a change from straight buffalo sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EdPeters1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Uniontown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
WHO would have thought of using tomato sauce on hot wings??? This recipe was excellent. I used a can of tomato sauce instead of 3/4 c. I used some wings that I had overcooked the day before. I heated all ingredients in a big pot and then added the wings. I coated all the wings and then I served them. I did not put the wings in the oven after coating them with the sauce. FYI using a can of tomato sauce tends to make a thicker sauce. My dry overcooked wings were very good after I coated them in this sauce. I did not taste a tomato flavor at all, which was great, because I'm not a tomato fan. I will make this often and use maybe a 1/2 c of tomato sauce with more hot sauce. Oh and I only used 2 tsps of butter. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2008
Totally Awesome..... I followed the recipe from the inventor recipe... used Frank's hot sauce and only 1/2 cup and 1 tblspn of tomato sauce. Did everything else the same and they were fabulous. We deep fried our wings and then I coated them with sauce and put them in the oven for 2-4 min under the broiler. They were the best!!!!!!!!!!! Will definately make these wings again... Loved them thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ayr, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 154) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Buffalo Chicken Fingers

A lower-fat, baked version of spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States