Buffalo Chicken Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This the real thing! Very simple, very very good, and absolutely authentic taste *IF* you use Frank's Red Hot Sauce. Not Tabasco. Not nothin' else ... and you'll have the taste just like the originals from The Anchor Bar in Buffalo NY. And, just like Chef John says, butter is what you use ... not margarine. You should never buy store-bought wing sauce (waste of money, bad taste, and this stuff is soooo easy to make!). Suggestions: - Omit the cayenne if you want your wings mild-to-medium-hot, 1/4 tsp as listed if you want it medium-hot, and, well, you get the idea. - Skip the extra salt (absolutely not necessary as all bottled hot sauce is incredibly salty anyway) - Keep the sauce warm on the stove, and toss your hot-out-of-the-oven wings in a good amount of warmed hot-sauce, serve immediately - Do not put these back in the oven to "dry" the sauce ... they're supposed to be saucy. - Keep some extra warmed hot sauce on the table for dipping (for those of us that need more hot-sauce punishment!) - Lastly, serve with a real home-made blue cheese dressing, as there are several good ones on this site (choose one with less mayo-to-sour cream ratio) ... and don't forget the celery & carrot sticks to garnish for a crunch & cooling effect! Thanks for a great recipe, Chef John.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
432 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Farmingdale, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
This is it!! I am from Buffalo and have lived away for many years. Every year when I visit I just can't get enough "wings", but now I can make them myself! Authentic recipe (sorry to those who don't like it, but this IS what wings taste like in Buffalo)... I deep fried the wings in peanut oil (355 degrees) in batches, then tossed all of the wings in the sauce - give em a good shake - with the lid on of course. Serve with blue cheese dressing, carrot and celery sticks. Tastes like home :) Thanks to Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
This recipe is simple and very good. We cooked it and dipped drumsticks in the sauce. Then we baked the drumsticks and used the rest of the sauce for dipping. Next time we plan to marinade it to get more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I make this sauce then marinate my chicken in the buffalo chicken wing sauce usually choosing chicken breasts. after its been sitting for a few hours I cook the chicken in the sauce over medium head(essentially poaching the chicken in wing sauce) then I shred the chicken with a fork and put it over salad, it is the best thing I've EVER eaten! its a must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bristol, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I really disliked this sauce--I couldn't eat it at all! I tried it with Frank's Hot Sauce and with Crystal Hot Sauce. The butter aroma and flavor was overwhelming in both batches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annapolis, Maryland, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Best wing sauce I ever made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Heck yeah. I used plain old store-brand hot sauce, and somehow I ran out of vinegar, so had to leave it out, but it was still awesome. I spread a pizza crust with ranch dressing, then topped with shredded chicken tossed in the sauce.. topped with red onion, bleu cheese crumbles, and mozzarella. HEAVEN. One thing that wasn't included in the directions, which I found relevant: As soon as I removed the sauce from the heat and the boil died down, the sauce began to separate. So when I was ready to use it, I returned it to the heat, brought back to a boil, pulled it, and quickly tossed the chicken before it had a chance to separate again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by campagnes

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
OH YEAH!!!!!!!!!!! great tang- omitted the cayenne. fried a bag of chicken wings (thaw and thoroughly dry the wing pieces.. then salt/pepper, then cover in flour in a ziplock bag- 9 minutes per batch) then mixed them in this sauce.. FABULOUS!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2012
'dis be da one! zakki not sure if you are allergic to butter/margarine or what, but the butter is what mellows out the flavors of the ingredients! if you've ever been to buffalo this recipe is spot on. perfect balance of flavor and wouldn't change a thing! franks red hot is the only way to make this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2012
Great recipe. We like it extra spicy so we double the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Golden, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Buffalo Wing Sauce

See the secret to real Buffalo wing sauce.

Buffalo Chicken Wings III

These baked wings get an extra flavor kick from cayenne pepper.

Buffalo Chicken Fingers

A lower-fat, baked version of spicy Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States