Buffalo Chicken Sloppy Joes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Luv2eat
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2015
I basically combined two recipes - from the other recipe I added one medium carrot and two celery stalks diced small and one 8 oz can of tomato sauce. I only used 1/2 cup reduced sodium chicken broth. I only used 4 ounces of the cream cheese and about 4 ounces of the cheddar cheese. I did double the hot sauce and added more until zippy enough for our tastes. I cooked the ground meat, onions, celery and carrots until vegetables were tender and meat was browned. Then I added the liquids and cooked down the liquids before adding the cheeses. I was not too soupy due to reducing it first. I served on buns with blue cheese crumbles, blue cheese and ranch dressing, hot sauce and shredded cheddar cheese for people to add per their personal preferences. I could also see adding all 8 ounces of cream cheese and all the cheddar and serving it as a dip (without adding the tomato sauce). I did use ground turkey since that is what I already had on hand. I did not use the oil and I did not add salt. It tasted great and was a way of having the buffalo flavor without cooking wings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Thanks for posting the recipe, my whole family enjoyed it! Even my twin 3 1/2 year olds liked it. Made a few changes,instead of Red hot I used Buffalo wing sauce from my bar recipe omitted the chicken broth and it had the perfect amount of sauce for sloppy joe's. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I made this tonight and my husband loved it. I didn't add onions but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. He said next time he'd like to have them as open faced sandwiches nd eat with a fork. Oh I and I used a blue cheese salad dressing instead of blue cheese crumbles bc that's what I had on hand. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Bevier French

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jasper, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2013
This is a great base recipe. I added a LOT more buffalo sauce and didn't add any cheddar. I think that would ruin the taste of it. I also added a little blue cheese dressing to the mix. I also only added 1 T of the brown sugar, think it would be too sweet to add all of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2013
Was looking for a way to use ground chicken, and I'm a huge fan of buffalo chicken dip so this recipe caught my attention. I'm really enjoying it and will definitely be making it again. My neighbor stopped in just after I made it and wanted to know what I had been cooking - she said it smelled delicious. I did use only a pound of ground chicken (I live alone and don't need huge quantities at any one time), but followed others suggestions about using the full quantity of hot sauce in a half recipe. I also threw in a bit more cheddar cheese. Very nice flavors. Reheats nicely in the microwave for single servings too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2013
We love chicken wings but not the fat and calories so thought we wold try what I presume is a considerbly less fat/caloric recipe. We made it for the second time camping this past weekend. YUMMY!!! Didn't have the brown sugar or the cream cheese. Used some shredded Mexican cheese instead. Also put them in tortilla wraps instead of the bun. WE LOVE this recipe. This is definitely our new "go to" recipe when we need a chicken wing fix!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Becky Tony clarke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I agree with everyone that the recipe needs significantly more hot sauce. I didn't worry about reducing the broth because I let it simmer and reduce for a while. We are definitely fans. I threw in some ranch in lieu of the blue cheese. we also like a little celery in as well. 4 stars only because you have to change it up a little to make it work for the masses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by wasabee
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
Doubled the hot sauce, extra cheddar cheese, omitted the vinegar, added extra garlic, and added a ranch packet...YUMMMMM!!!! Will definitely make this again! Whole family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This was amazing! It came out perfectly but instead of the Neufchatel Cheese I used Philadelphia cooking creme cheese ( Italin cheese and herb) My boyfriend is quite hard to please around dinner and this my friends pleased him lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
Also works great on pasta! I boiled macaroni and black beans, drained and then put this mixture on top. Love it! Quick and easy hot meal that I can get on the table for my family in less than 30 minutes when I get home from work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Buffalo Chicken Sandwiches

Make spicy, slow-simmering Buffalo chicken for sandwiches.

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Buffalo Chicken Wings I

See how to make restaurant-style Buffalo chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States