Buffalo Chicken Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
Great dip for football season! I used Texas Pete Buffalo Style Chicken Wing Sauce, 1/3 less-fat cream cheese (aka Neufchatel), and 1 lb. of fresh chicken that was boiled for 20 minutes (or until done) and then shredded. However, to avoid the strange "orange sherbert" color of the dip, I layered the ingredients in a 8"x11" baking dish as follows: Mix together the softened cream cheese and ranch dressing and spread evenly in the bottom of the dish. Then mix together the shredded chicken and wing sauce (about 2/3 bottle)and layer on top of the cream cheese mixture. Sprinkle just a small amount of shredded cheese (I used Colby/Jack) over the top. Bake at 350 for about 20-25 minutes or until dip is heated through and cheese is melted. I just think people tend to shy away from the dip when it's all mixed together because of the strange color. It's more recognizable (retains a brighter red color) when it's layered and gets gobbled up faster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2460 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I have made a variation of this recipe for over a year now and have never been disappointed. I suggest using more chicken and more hot sauce with this recipe. Also, if you use the chedder cheese, don't use the pre-shredded bags from the grocery store. The cheese in those bags is coated with flour and it seems to make the dip oiler.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2250 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2004
the biggest hit for the superbowl party! I did use bleu cheese dressing instead of ranch because thats what you eat with buffalo chicken! I also used 2 boneless chicken breasts instead of canned chicken (i cant stand canned meats) grilled it in a pan, cut it into bite sized pieces, put it back in the pan with the hot sauce. When I mixed the the cream cheese and bleu cheese together I added more hotsauce for more of a kick. Baked in an 8x8 pan, 350 for 20 minutes. Dip was gone in minutes! will make 100 more times!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1934 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYPD K9 COP

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
A KEEPER! A really tasty and unique dip with the perfect amount of zip. I used 3 boneless skinless chicken breasts, boiled and shredded. (I can't stand canned meat) I mixed all ingredients and baked it in a uncovered casserole dish for 20 minutes at 350 degrees. Then I converted it to a crock pot to keep it warm. I served it with tostito scoops and celery. It was the talk of the party!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
833 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I got this recipe about a month ago off of this site to take to a pitch-in and since then have made it 3 more times! It's a total hit and everyone loves it! My changes (okay, I made quite a few): use 1/2 cup Frank's Buffalo Wing Sauce and 1/2 cup Red Hot, 1/2 cup of Ranch dressing and 1/2 cup Blue Cheese dressing, and put almost all of the cheese in the dip and just sprinkle some on top. Oh yeah, and we used fresh chicken shredded in the food processor as someone suggested. And we didn't like the crock pot method - it made the dip get dried out pretty quickly. We just cooked it on the stove and put it into a serving dish (we did end up puting in the microwave a few times, but that was okay). This is great because the recipe itself is very low carbs and you can use low fat cream cheese, dressing, and cheese and you don't experience all that much guilt... especially when served with celery sticks (although those Fritos scoops are fabulous!) Thanks for this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
511 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2007
This is a great and easy appetizer to make and is very well received and I have never brought any home from any party. I read the reviews before making it and like many others I made a few modifications that I think helped make the recipe better. I used 1 lb of skinless chicken breasts which I cleaned, sliced into strips and par boiled for 15 minutes, drained, and cooled for a few minutes. When the chicken is cool it will be very easy to shred with your fingers. I used a large skillet where I placed 1 Cup of Frank’s Red hot which is what is used in Buffalo, NY at the Anchor Bar to make real Buffalo chicken wings. I also added a ½ stick of butter which is also a very common ingredient in the preparation of Buffalo chicken wings. While the chicken and Frank’s is warming slowly, I mixed one cup of Blue cheese dressing and the cream cheese until smooth and placed it into the refrigerator until I was ready to make the dip. After the chicken and Frank’s were good and warm I placed this into a plastic container for later use as well. This gets everything ready for the next day or for later in the day to just place it together and warm in the oven. When I was ready for the dip I pre-heated the oven to 350 placed the blue cheese mixture into the bottom of a 7x11” baking pan and layered the chicken onto the top of the blue cheese. I topped the whole thing with a small amount of shredded mozzarella / provolone cheese and po
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
442 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2004
This is sooo good!!! I cut the recipe in half and baked it in the oven for 20 min instead of the slow-cooker. Next time I'll try it with blue cheese dressing instead od ranch. Either way, you can't go wrong!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
261 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wakefield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
I made this today for the first time and it is excellent!! I have been trying out lots of different recipes to prepare for my annual Halloween party and this one will definately make it to the table! Canned chicken is repulsive to me so I used rotissary chicken (from Sams), which has such wonderful flavor and compliments the entire dish. Also...nothing beats Franks Original Hot Sauce! Used blue cheese instead of ranch and 1/3 less fat cream cheese. Combined all in the crock pot and let it sit on low for a couple of hours. Served with tortilla chips, celery and scoops. Yum, yum, yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
224 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This is excellent. I've made this dish many times, and everyone keeps requesting it again. I mix 1/2 Ranch dressing and 1/2 blue cheese. I do not use the chedder cheese. I tried it once, and did not care for the oily orange greasy appearance. A few other "improvements" I've made are I melt 1/2 a stick of butter before warming the meat in the frying pan. Also, I recently began substituting ground turky and found it much eaiser than cooking and shredding chicken. It has a nicer texture in the dip, and tastes the same.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
Definitely wasn't what I expected.... probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Roseville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 2,958) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five-Star Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to make a dip that tastes just like chicken wings only without the mess.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

PHILLY Buffalo Chicken Dip

See how to put a quick-and-easy twist on buffalo wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States