Buffalo Chicken Burgers with Blue Cheese Dressing Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2010
too hot for me but a greeat idea
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
YUMMY! I did not make the sauce for the top (I do not care for blue cheese, but my husband does). Instead, I mixed lettuce with blue cheese (for my husband) and ranch (for me) and put it on top of the burger. I will most definitely be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
These have got to be the best "alternative" burgers we've had in ages! I minced celery & red onion & added this to burger mix; also added some bread crumbs because as others have pointed out, the patties are pretty wet. I broiled them because I was afraid they would fall apart on the grill, and this worked fine -- it was easy and the burgers browned up nicely. I also added some hot sauce to the blue cheese sauce (Texas Pete is our preferred brand) which gave it a good kick. The sauce was so good that the leftover portion was brought to the table and used as an impromptu chip dip. Will definitely make this again soon -- not a bite of leftovers remained!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2010
How do you completely change it...then rate it? It's not even the same recipe when your done! This is for almost every review I read...not all...but most. Turkey instead of chicken is one thing...but when you SKIP the blue cheese, and the bun and on and on and on...it's not the same! I have an idea...change it...then submit it as yours. Don't review a recipe you have ALMOST completely changed. And yes..my family of 7 and our friends loved it as is. Well done MELXCLOUD!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Hunter Dye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lynnwood, Washington, USA
Living In: Battle Ground, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2010
I used ground turkey instead of chicken - I don't know about your grocery store, but ground chicken is twice as expensive here ($6 a lb!) We used plain mayo instead of the blue cheese mixture for topping, high-fiber wheat buns instead of kaiser rolls, I used Frank's Original RedHot sauce, and I left out the cayenne pepper in the meat mixture (thought it might be too spicy for the 8yo). Those are the only changes I made. I did freeze the patties for about 20 minutes after I formed them, as they seemed soft. I'm used to cooking hamburger patties on the grill, so I use a very low heat to avoid flare-ups. I've never done turkey patties before - they won't flare-up, and they need to be cooked more quickly and at a higher heat or they'll dry out - A LEARNING EXPERIENCE FOR ME! So, they were a little dry but the flavor was very good. I'll give them one more try for sure, using the higher heat and maybe adding an egg like others here mentioned. I'm a HUGE fan on Frank's RedHot sauce! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was really good. Only had 1 lb of meat so I scaled to 3 servings. I brushed it with 1/4 cup Lawry's Buffalo BBQ marinade mixed with 2 TBS Franks hot sauce. Left out the celery salt b/c I didn't have it. These were great. Didn't make the dressing either. Served on a twist roll with red onion and tomato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was ok - I don't see the flavor as bold, as the recipe claimed. Glad I tried it out first before making it for my husband. Really liked the idea, but it was just so-so in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2010
my husband said "this could quite possibly be the best chicken sandwich i've ever had!" i didnt use sliced celery, still out of this world! *****update****. for those who think the burgers will fall thru or fall apart on the grill. trust me, they wont. super soft and tricky to form a patty, but once they're on the grill, they're good to go. also, please, follow the recipe as is. outstanding..... no need to add bread crumbs or onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa margitan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
We thought these were fantastic! Now, I must admit, I had been drinking prior to eating them, so my review may be a bit skewed. However, everyone else who ate them also commented multiple times how much they enjoyed them. I didn't have lettuce or celery (we were camping...too lazy to deal w/fresh produce. And, I hate celery.) and they were still awesome. I just prepped another batch to freeze for later grilling. In the latest batch, I added some minced garlic and parmesan cheese to attempt to recreate our favorite wing sauce (garlic parmesan) taste. I did freeze them prior to grilling as they are quite wet and I imagine would have been a little annoying to deal w/on the grill w/out freezing first. THANKS for a fantastic recipe (one that made me expand my horizons and try ground chicken, at that!)! EDIT: The addition of minced garlic and grated parmesan cheese was awesome! We loved them as written, and tweaked to mimic our favorite wing flavors. If we're out of dry blue cheese, I'll use a little light ranch mixed some hot sauce for a topper, instead. These are now ALWAYS in our freezer for quick meals. When we don't have buns, I serve them on Lender's frozen bagels (toasted).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovestohost

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
Well, this recipe is one I'm definitely going to keep. I made my own poultry seasoning (thyme, rosemary, marjoram, sage, black pepper) and used 1/3 C Frank's Red Hot sauce since we like the taste. Also, I combined ground turkey and chicken. I also added some onion powder, garlic powder, and Worcestershire sauce to the meat mixture. I started them on a griddle pan and finished them in the oven at 350 degrees for about 15 minutes; I served them on buns with low-fat Swiss cheese (less fat than the blue cheese sauce, although that looked yummy!). This was delicious, and I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blue Cheese Burgers

See how to make gourmet hamburgers with blue cheese mixed into the patties.

Absolutely the BEST Blue Cheese Dressing Ever!

See how to make creamy, chunky-style blue cheese salad dressing from scratch.

Bill's Blue Cheese Dressing

See how to make an unbelievably rich and creamy blue cheese dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States