Buffalo Chex® Mix Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I like the idea of this recipe, but I found I had to make changes for it to come out right. It is VERY salty. I haven't yet, but next time I will use unsalted butter. Also, one other reviewer suggested unsalted pretzels...an excellent idea. Microwaving did not work for me...I used the old tried-and-true oven method and the mix actually got crispy instead of weirdly limp in places. I used Frank's Extra Red Hot and kept in the celery seeds, but I'd caution people about those. I like them, but biting into a few at once is kind of overpowering. Next time I will try a homemade ranch mix to cut back on salt. I did also add in some mixed nuts because I like that variety. Over all, I would make this again, but only with these changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buxton, Maine, USA
Living In: Porter, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
I use a homemade ranch dressing mix so that I can control the amount of sodium. Also, I heard that Chex just came out with a box of mixed flavors of chex so that you don't have to buy 3 kinds to make the chex recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I tried this a few times trying to find the right combination of celery seed. It was always way too overpowering and I will leave it out if I ever make it again. I feel like it could be good if left out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
This is my favorite Chex mix! I use regular cheese crackers instead of the parmesan goldfish. It's really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROLLERSGIRLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
This was good, but not one of our favorite Chex Mix recipes. The buffalo flavor is about right for us, but the Wheat Chex were a little chewy, not crispy like I think they should be. I will stick with some of the other Chex Mix recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEFJULIE1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
I've made this several times now and it's always a hit. Instead of packaged ranch dressing mix, I make my own from scratch, I suggest using Scotdog's dry ranch dressing mix which is also on this site. Hers has no salt which is good in this recipe because you get enough salt with the Goldfish and pretzels. I always use Frank's hot sauce and some times, I'll cut back on the goldfish by a cup and add in some dry roasted peanuts or almonds. NOTE: I do not use celery seed. We don't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
This is my favorite Chex Mix. I made it last year for Thanksgiving to snack on while cooking everything else. I used all 1 kind of Chex so I didn't have to buy multiple boxes of cereal. I had no problem with the microwave method and it had plenty of flavor (and spice) for us. Can't wait to make it again this year, I see it becoming a tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Bunny Chef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I liked the flavor, however VERY disappointed with the resulting texture. I'm not sure why Chex advises you to microwave. The cereal clumped together and was hard and stale tasting after only 3 minutes in the microwave, even stirring at 1 1/2 minutes. I will try this again, but I will BAKE in the oven on a lightly greased cookie sheet at 300 for 10-15 minutes, rather than microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
Sorry, but this was very bland. If you want spicy chex mix, add some Frank's to the original recipe, along with extra Worchestershire. I definitely won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
This was a delicious mix I made for my Fiance when he went away for a business trip. I was not about to buy a $5 box of wheat chex so I instead used the rice chex (8C total). I recommend using unsalted pretzels though because the mix is pretty salty. Beyond those changes, it was ridiculously fabulous and will be making it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Bee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Buffalo Wings

See how to make delicious hot wings in the oven.

Chef John's Buffalo Chicken Dip

See Chef John’s secrets for making the best game-day dip ever!

Restaurant-Style Buffalo Chicken Wings

Make hot wings that taste like the famous restaurant chain’s.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States