Bud's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2015
Excellent recipe! I was looking for a potato salad similar to what you'd find in a deli, and this fit the bill perfectly! I scaled it down to 5 servings because that's all I needed. I didn't discard the marinade. I tossed the potatoes around a few times, and they absorbed it. Also, some reviewers mentioned it was too sweet, so I cut back on the sugar a little, and it was still sweet enough for me. It is the sweetness though, that makes it different (in a good way) from standard potato salads. I also added some finely chopped celery and a chopped, hard-boiled egg. I was short on mayo, so I added plain Greek yogurt to compensate. Thanks DIANA_LESLIE for sharing your Dad's recipe! It's a keeper! And...GO PATS!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
Picnic time -- everyone wanted recipe and you had to be fast to get seconds
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
I only use the marinade part of this recipe. It is however,The Secret to consistantly awesome potato salad. Start with the marinade process, then choose your add ins according to your families taste, then finish off with Mayo. No need to fiddle with vinegar, mustard or sugar trying to get your potato salad dressing perfectly seasoned. The marinade did all that work for!!!! Thank you Bud, I'll never make potato salad any other way!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greene, New York, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
this is awesome! im not a potatoe salad person but this is so good! i will say you need to spend some time with the prep but well worth it & really that is just the 12 hour soak in the marinade. there will be no other potatoe salad in my house from now on only this one! Thanks for sharing!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I made this potato salad to go with hamburgers one night, nice change over fries. The sauce is delicious! I added about 1/2 cup celery, four eggs and used red Yukon potatoes. It was delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bella Signora

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2012
My new favorite way to make potato salad! I took this to a family gathering last month, and not one bite was left! Due to a time constraint, I only marinated the russet potatoes for 4 hours - it was enough - and then followed the guidelines for the dressing, although I added chopped eggs, only 1 onion and fresh celery (finely chopped). Absolutely delicious! The key is in the marinade! Thanks, Diana_Leslie for sharing your Dad's recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
This was weirdly great! Next time i'll add less sugar bc it was a little on the sweet side. I also add chopped carrott bc they look pretty and taste great in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Marrott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
Excellent!!! I think marinating the potatoes is key to the recipe. I used red potatoes and added 5 hard boiled eggs, a jar of pickles (shredded), and a tsp of dijon mustard in addition to the basic recipe. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2011
great!! Thanks this one's a keeper
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2011
This is an excellent recipe! I did add some red and green pepper to it to add a little crunch and color. The time it takes is well worth it! Thank you, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gypsygirl64

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Parma Heights, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States