Bud's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
The marinade really sets this one apart. I took other reviewers' advice and use about half the mayo. For me, potato salad MUST have hard-boiled eggs and celery, so I add about 4-6 eggs and about a cup of celery (in addition to the celery seed). I also marinade the onions along with the potatoes. This doesn't last long at my house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stillwater, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2008
This is a good base but is bland - I have the answer! Add a couple tablespoons of Italian Dressing to taste! It's as simple as that! I also used the suggestion of another reviewer and added sour cream to create a creamier texture without adding the mayo taste! Thanks bunches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2008
I didn't like this recipe. It reminded me too much of German potato salad which I don't care for. The vinegar overpowered all the other flavors in the salad. I made the recipe as is except I added eggs. I made it for a gathering and some people did like it, but I know I won't make it again. It's too vinegary. This is a good starter recipe if you skip the vinegar/sugar/water bath and add other spices to flavor it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hustisford, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2008
Loved it, loved it, loved it! This is the secret to the potato salad. Mine was always missing something, Not anymore!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luv2eat5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Norton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2008
Potato salad lovers...GO with this one! Excellent with no leftovers on a boat party! Minor changes personal taste. Scaled it back to half recipe, using one 5lb bag RED potatoes, scrub, leave peels on (easy!) cubed to about 3/4" size, simmered in tall large skillet salted water until firm (not mushy!)about 12-15 minutes. Marinated overnight in ziplock bag. Used 1 small bunch green onions (only 1/2 green parts) & some red onion. I had to add eggs (5) & celery for crunch! Do NOT be afraid to marinate the potatoes...this is what makes this recipe so special! Maybe some posters did not drain the marinade off when they posted it was mushy or vinegary??? Just a thought...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
My husband owes me whenever I make this salad! Thanks so much for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2008
I was starting to get frustrated with potato salad recipes-- they were all turning out bland for me, and being the only person who can cook in my family, I gotta come through at barbecues. This totally did the trick. I marinated for three hours, used Miracle Whip instead of regular mayo (those of you who are wary about the sweetness wouldn't be advised to do this, I guess, but I think mayo is so bland in salads), and celery salt to taste instead of salt and celery seed. It was very good the first day and restaurant quality day two. Thanks for getting me out of my potato salad slump!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
Everyone I know loves this potato salad. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by raynorra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Robbinsville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2008
I really didn't like this recipe; I found it very very sweet to the point were it was just overwhelming. I made this during the weekend when we had people over for lunch - not one of us like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatieBell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Liverpool, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
I only needed a small batch of potato salad for a luncheon so I cut this down to six servings. It turned out delicious, everyone enjoyed it and there was only a tiny bit left. I did not have celery seed so I used some diced celery instead and I have to say I liked the added crunch it gave to the salad. This is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hicksville, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

My Mom’s Good Old Potato Salad

See how to make a classic potato salad with eggs, sweet pickles, and mayo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States