Bud's Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I am a picky potato salad person so I'm giving this 4 stars...I've yet to have a 5 star (perfect) potato salad. I followed this recipe exactly and the day after it sat in the vinegar, we did as it said, drained the vinegar mixture and added the mayo, onion, etc. My husband and I thought it was okay but we could still really taste the vinegar. The taste was OKAY. Then, we let it sit another day with the mayo and it was DELICIOUS the next day. I would therefore make this 48 hours prior to serving...the day before with the vinegar mixture, drain, then add all the rest of the ingredients to it and allow it to sit another day. It is definitely worth the time if you have it! I would say this is definitely one of the best recipes so far!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
I made this for my 12 year old grandaughter's birthday party and it was a total hit. Love that you make it the night before. Lovely flavour and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tumbler Ridge, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
Good but need to cut the sugar to 1/2 of what the recipe calls for. Was too sweet. Start with 1/4 of the sugar called for and add until desired sweetness
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CharlieBrown

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort St. John, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Diana, thank you so much for posting this recipe. My mother used to make the best potato salad, among other things, and unfortunately, I never wrote the recipe down or paid too much attention when she was making it...just couldn't wait to eat it. She passed away recently and I never got the recipe. This is exactly how hers tasted and looked. Sometimes, simple is bestl. Thanks again so much and best to you in 2010! Carmel
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carmelulu

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2009
The marinade is the key to this recipe. Otherwise I actually used low fat mayo with low fat sour cream which worked perfect. I also added hard boiled egg. it was delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2009
Been making potato salad forever, and it always came up lacking something. Just used this recipe for the first time. Had no celery seed, but added celery. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetTaterPie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This recipe is great as is or just use the marinade and do your own thing with the dressing, veggies and add ins. Real NY deli taste...Thank God...I'm stuck in Virginia!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2009
this should be called buds BEST potato salad made this for mothers day and everybody LOVED it the ingredients were perfect the vinegar wasnt to overpowering it was GREAT!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
This recipe was good but very long to complete.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
While this was really tasty, I'm wondering if I could've achieved this flavor with Miracle Whip and additional sugar.I'm just not quite sure, but don't know if I will continue to marinate potatos for potato salad. Don't get me wrong; it is good, just don't know if worth the lengthy (though easy) prep. If you enjoy sweet salads I'd give this a try. UPDATE: hubby just told me he didn't care for it; he loves german potato salad and sweet dishes of the like. He told me to stick with the gourmet deli and skip the hassle of making my own
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chef tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Island, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Warm Steak and Potato Salad

Learn how to make a satisfying salad with the addition of steak and potatoes.

Old Fashioned Potato Salad

See how to make tasty potato salad, old-school style!

How to Make Country Potato Salad

A picnic classic, this country-style potato salad has a zesty zing!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States