Budget-Wise Chicken Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
I made quite a few changes, but this was such an awesome beginning recipe that I gave it 5 stars. Here's what I did: Sauteed the chicken in olive oil with an onion and two crushed up bay leaves. In another pan, sauteed in olive oil 2 shredded carrots and 4 medium-sized shredded potatoes, plus two stalks of celery. I added a little rosemary and some dried minced onion while the veggies were cooking. After both pans were finished cooking, I combined them and added black pepper and 1 cup of chicken broth and two more bay leaves. A pre-fab pie crust from the refrigerated aisle finished up this easy dish. One last note: The pie took over an hour to bake fully, but was perfect in the end. Can't wait to share this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2008
I made this exactly as the recipe called for and absolutely loved it. My husband found it a little bit dry, so the next time I made a roux and added that to the mix before baking, and this time we both loved it! This is a definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I used canned corn instead of carrot, this was fabulous! My husband and teenage son raved over it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JODIBRONSONNIMS
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2006
I added more broth and I found it delicous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Quebec, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I shredded the vegetables with a food processor, including some onion instead of the onion powder. I also added about a cup of cheese and additional chicken broth. Shredding that way is faster than chopping and cooking them is a lot faster too. In addition my kids found the shredded veggies more palatable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra M.

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2008
I really enjoyed it! Lots of room to play around with this easy-to-follow recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
As written, a four - but as made, a 5-star. My husband made this for me, it was excellent. He used 1 cup of broth, added two stalks sliced celery, only used 3/4 tsp salt, and used fresh onion, not minced. The recipe fails to mention time needed to saute the chicken (or assumes you're using pre-cooked) - he seasoned it with basil. Also, took 35 minutes to bake, not 25.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
I used extra broth and real onion and I also added salt and thyme. Very very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2011
great place to start! also, just a note for the folks who keep complaining that it had no gravy or that it's not a good chicken POT pie...well, that's the thing. it's not a POT PIE. it's chicken pie. pot pie has a gravy, chicken pie does not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Carton

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Lomita, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2009
This was not a success I'm afraid. I usually make sure my chicken recipes have a little more moisture. It's so
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Ultimate Chicken Pot Pie

This fantastic comfort-food classic is easy and so delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States