Budget-Friendly Hearty Winter Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Used fresh rosemary and thyme, and added some dijon mustard for a little tang. Served with rye bread and pickled eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FrootLoop

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2013
If you are looking for consistency, color, and flavor you will have to increase your flavor to taste. Bouillon cubes (chicken and beef), fresh herbs, garlic, red onion, and substituting corn for carrots. Takes good to great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Fantastic! Especially with cajun seasoning!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by manateesrule

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Manitowoc, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
This was quite yummy! I added a yellow potato and a parsnip. I also took the suggestions of others and added 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar and 4 cups instead of 3 of veggie broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Garland, Texas, USA
Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2012
Easy, Economical, Healthy. The sweet potato was a nice balance of flavor to the strong cabbage flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2012
This recipe didn't do it for me. The veggies were really overcooked and the turkey sausage lost a lot of flavor during cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2012
I substituted frozen, Italian-style, turkey meatballs for the bratwurst - because I had them and they’re a more heart-friendly ingredient. It was delicious. I added 1/2 to 1 C. of extra water to tone the strength and make a better soup consistency. It was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I just finished a big bowl of this and some beer bread and it was delicious. I used turkey smoked sasuage because that was in the freezer and browned it first. This recipe would be dellicious with almost any combo of veggies, but the ones in the recipe are good enough for me. I have leftovers and I am very happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Just OK for me. Probably won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Groveport, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2010
I made this recipe, substituting white wine with sherry cooking wine, cut the bratwurst in half since that's all I had on hand, used 1 sweet potato and 1 white potato and added 1 cup apple juice along with the broth. Then I sprinkled in just a bit of cajun seasoning. It is delicious and definitely one to make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Hearty Chicken Tortilla Soup

This one-pot Mexican classic is easy and packed with flavor.

Healing Cabbage Soup

A classic cabbage soup with garlic and stewed tomatoes in comforting broth.

Cabbage Fat-Burning Soup

This healthy soup has a tomato broth and seven kinds of fresh, healthy veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States