Budget Berry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I've made this recipe in the past and it turns out great! I use either raspberry or strawberry jello and no one can tell that it's made with green tomatoes. Instead of freezing the jam I process my jars in a boiling-water canner for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this recipe using sugar-free cherry gelatin and Splenda. It was very good. Had the ladies at work sample without telling them the ingredients---they were pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2002
MY grandma used to make this. I used raspberry jell-o. It suprisingly good, we use it on toast and bagles the kids love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This jam is great! A very pleasant surprise! Try it if you have some green tomatos - you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I just made this and am pretty surprised with the taste. I thought it would have some tomato taste to it but none at all. I did cut it down to 8 serving to try at first and I used cherry jello. I added sugar to it and it turned out really sweet but still good, I made a second 8serving batch and did not add the sugar and that turned out MUCH better. I will be using this recipe again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Delicious. Perfect use of too many end of season green tomatoes. I used the called for amount of sugar, but used sugar-free gelatin....perfect. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This really works, and it's delicious. The tomatoes I used the second time were probably 2/3 of the way ripe, and it still worked great! I will use this recipe for my green tomatoes for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is a geat recipe! My family of 8 goes through a jar of jam a sitting ....or almost, and it has become very expensive. The kids are not very picky when it comes to anything sweet so they really enjoyed the jam, not to say that it isn't good, because it is remarkeably tasty, but obviously it is what it is-not the real thing(can anything beat homemade raspberry/strawberry jam with chunks of fruit?). I did fool a lot of people who thought that it was authentic. I cut the sugar by LESS than half and it was still very sweet. I have tried this with every variety of gelatin and the berries are the best in my opinion. I sometimes throw in a hand of sliced real berries to give even more of an effect. I will be using this recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Looking for a way to use up green tomatoes in our garden, I came across this recipe. I made a half batch first with raspberry jam and another half batch with strawberry jam. It is good, but my family could tell it was not my regular freezer jam. It comes together very quickly and is very simple to make. I just threw the tomatoes in my food processor to pulp them. I did use sugar-free gelatin as that is what I always have on-hand. Very cheap to make if you have the green tomatoes just sitting in your garden. Thanks for sharing this recipe SUZQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Made this according to the recipe and it was good. A pleasant suprise althought not as good as regular jam w/fruit it was still good. Don't be discouraged the end product is much better than it smells or looks during the process! I used a combination of strawberry and raspberry together and then another batch with cranberry, strawberry and blackberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by simpledinners

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Fresh Berry Jam

See the simple way to turn fresh berries into delicious jam.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States