Budget Berry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2002
This jam is great! A very pleasant surprise! Try it if you have some green tomatos - you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2006
I made this recipe using sugar-free cherry gelatin and Splenda. It was very good. Had the ladies at work sample without telling them the ingredients---they were pleasantly surprised.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
I've made this recipe in the past and it turns out great! I use either raspberry or strawberry jello and no one can tell that it's made with green tomatoes. Instead of freezing the jam I process my jars in a boiling-water canner for 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Laurel, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2008
This really works, and it's delicious. The tomatoes I used the second time were probably 2/3 of the way ripe, and it still worked great! I will use this recipe for my green tomatoes for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2009
I just made this and am pretty surprised with the taste. I thought it would have some tomato taste to it but none at all. I did cut it down to 8 serving to try at first and I used cherry jello. I added sugar to it and it turned out really sweet but still good, I made a second 8serving batch and did not add the sugar and that turned out MUCH better. I will be using this recipe again, thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Timmins, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Cornwall, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
Delicious. Perfect use of too many end of season green tomatoes. I used the called for amount of sugar, but used sugar-free gelatin....perfect. Absolutely delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minot, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Of course it's not the real thing, but for what it is, left over green tomatoes from the garden, it is fantastic. I used some in a berry vinaigrette for salad, and it was very good. My son enjoyed it very much as well, on bread as a jam. Thank-you for giving me a way to take something useless and make it into something usable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Miranda628- One suggestion about the runny consistency could be because of using the tomatoes seeds and skin in your pulp. Blanch the tomatoes and remove the skin and take out all seeds inside. Your jam may set better because there is not excess liquid. Hopefully this helps because this looks like an awesome recipe and I can not wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very easy to make. I did use half the sugar and it turned out good. Good way to use green tomatoes and I agree the berry kinds are best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have a bunch of green tomatoes and saw this recipe so I thought I'd give it a shot. I've never made jams or jellies before and this recipe was very simple and had great success. It is a little on the sweet side but then isn't that how jelly should be? A recent reviewer commented on how her jelly had turned out runny. It may be that there was too much liquid from the tomatoes after processing. I drained the liquid after chopping the tomatoes in the food processor so that all I was left with was true pulp. I made the mistake of adding my gelatin with the sugar instead of at the end. It still jelled, thank goodness. Anyway, a great recipe if you've never made jams or jellies before and want to give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Fresh Berry Jam

See the simple way to turn fresh berries into delicious jam.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States