Budget Berry Jam Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
Just got through making this for the second time and love it, love it, love it!! I always use raspberry jello. I tried strawberry, but it didn't have near the flavor of the raspberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Ann, Missouri, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2014
Tastes good enough to eat but doesn't have the real strawberry flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
Miranda628- One suggestion about the runny consistency could be because of using the tomatoes seeds and skin in your pulp. Blanch the tomatoes and remove the skin and take out all seeds inside. Your jam may set better because there is not excess liquid. Hopefully this helps because this looks like an awesome recipe and I can not wait to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
I would guess that the jam that doesn't set up didn't have the jello completely dissolved, time how long you stir the jello, go at least 4 minutes, maybe five. This is the only way my kids will eat tomatoes from our garden. although it doesn't taste like real fruit jam, it is perfect for kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2012
Very easy to make. I did use half the sugar and it turned out good. Good way to use green tomatoes and I agree the berry kinds are best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I have a bunch of green tomatoes and saw this recipe so I thought I'd give it a shot. I've never made jams or jellies before and this recipe was very simple and had great success. It is a little on the sweet side but then isn't that how jelly should be? A recent reviewer commented on how her jelly had turned out runny. It may be that there was too much liquid from the tomatoes after processing. I drained the liquid after chopping the tomatoes in the food processor so that all I was left with was true pulp. I made the mistake of adding my gelatin with the sugar instead of at the end. It still jelled, thank goodness. Anyway, a great recipe if you've never made jams or jellies before and want to give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
I made 12 batches of this jam!! I had a LOT of green tomatoes to use! But, I am wondering if anyone can tell me why about half of the batches didn't set, they are ice cream topping consistency?? The first time I didn't do a single batch, so I thought maybe that was why .. but I did ALL the rest one by one, canning them in water bath for 15 minutes and then each time starting the process completely over. I have a flat top stove, so it is REALLY hard to keep the temperature perfect - especially if you are using more than one burner - the whole thing is just hot! I cleaned/cut bad spots from tomatoes, put them in the blender (skin, seeds & all) then cooked them with the sugar for 20 minutes, then added the jello & then did the canning process. Any suggestions? I used Jello brand jello - the regular/original kind. Strawberry & Raspberry flavors. I'm still excited none the less, just wondering if anyone has some helpful hints! I wasn't exactly sure how to get tomato pulp - was putting them in the blender right or wrong? Please & thank you for any and all helpful pieces of advice! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Of course it's not the real thing, but for what it is, left over green tomatoes from the garden, it is fantastic. I used some in a berry vinaigrette for salad, and it was very good. My son enjoyed it very much as well, on bread as a jam. Thank-you for giving me a way to take something useless and make it into something usable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
This is a geat recipe! My family of 8 goes through a jar of jam a sitting ....or almost, and it has become very expensive. The kids are not very picky when it comes to anything sweet so they really enjoyed the jam, not to say that it isn't good, because it is remarkeably tasty, but obviously it is what it is-not the real thing(can anything beat homemade raspberry/strawberry jam with chunks of fruit?). I did fool a lot of people who thought that it was authentic. I cut the sugar by LESS than half and it was still very sweet. I have tried this with every variety of gelatin and the berries are the best in my opinion. I sometimes throw in a hand of sliced real berries to give even more of an effect. I will be using this recipe again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Looking for a way to use up green tomatoes in our garden, I came across this recipe. I made a half batch first with raspberry jam and another half batch with strawberry jam. It is good, but my family could tell it was not my regular freezer jam. It comes together very quickly and is very simple to make. I just threw the tomatoes in my food processor to pulp them. I did use sugar-free gelatin as that is what I always have on-hand. Very cheap to make if you have the green tomatoes just sitting in your garden. Thanks for sharing this recipe SUZQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Rhubarb Berry Jam

See how to make blueberry and rhubarb jam.

How to Make Fresh Berry Jam

See the simple way to turn fresh berries into delicious jam.

Green Tomato Relish

This green tomato relish is a perfect sidekick to sandwiches or entrees.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States