Buckwheat and Bacon Side Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cassie Kubina
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
This is an excellent side! I tweaked it a little the second time but, love love love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cassie Kubina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
It's hard to find good recipes for buckwheat groats. My husband loved it, but I thought it was just fine. The bacon flavor was more subtle than I had expected. I would double the recipe next time to have some for leftovers. Really just serves two people, as noted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I had this last night with dinner and loved it! I think with a few more veggies this could be a main dish rather than a side, but would be more like 1 serving than 2. I used 4 pieces of turkey bacon, and added about a cup of diced baby carrots to the onions while I caramelized them a bit. I had to use onion rather than shallots, since that's what I had, then I totally forgot to add either parsley or pepper at the end and this was still delicious. My husband doesn't like the earthy/strong flavor of buckwheat, but I thought it was great, and it didn't spike my blood sugar levels like a lot of "grainy" things can. (Yes, I know this is a seed...) I'll definitely make this again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2012
Fabulous ! I also make this using Barley, wheat OR wild rice. ALL turn out great ! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kitty

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lake Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
I accidentally used bulgur instead of buckwheat, but it still tasted delicious. This recipe doesn't make much -- I ate the whole thing for lunch (which is good for me because I'm the only one in the house who'll eat it). I didn't add salt because the bacon and chicken stock had plenty, and I used way more parsley for personal preference. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
LOVE IT! makes buckwheat very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale&Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2010
I love buckwheat but I wasn't impressed with this recipe. I would recommend adding onion (separately cooked till golden) in the end, because otherwise it becomes mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
The bacon is so good! Doesn't make a whole lot by our American standards, but this could be a main dish for 2 people. Careful about wolfing this down too fast... the buckwheat is SOOOO filling, you could get a tummy ache! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by emilyjane928

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
This recipe rocks!! We are new to the gluten-free thing and this dish was the perfect intro. I had to double the recipe to feed my two pre-teen boys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
Really good!!! As much as my husband dislike buckwheat, even he admitted that this one is good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

How to Make Brussels Sprouts with Bacon Dressing

See how to make simple Brussels sprouts with a warm bacon dressing.

Maple Roasted Brussels Sprouts with Bacon

Sweet and smoky roasted Brussels sprouts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States