Buckeyes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is the ONLY Buckeye recipe I use because not only does it taste better with the graham crackers, it also doesn't use tons of confectioner's sugar. Once you've tried this version, you will wonder how you ever made them with all that sugar! I double this recipe and make smaller balls as they get heavy on the toothpick when you dip/coat them in the semi-sweet melted chips. This recipe has become a family tradition with my own family and now my extended family. I can't show up for the big Christmas gathering without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Norwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2003
Delicious! I like this Buckeye recipe because it has the graham crumbs in it. Gives them a bit more body and firmness. Try them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2001
My friends beg me to make this!! Delicous & very easy!! A real hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2005
Good & easy. I used a 1/2 T. measuring spoon to make the balls & did not get 36. It only took 1 bag of chocolate & that was enough to coat all but 2. They are good uncoated too! I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hinckley, Ohio, USA
Living In: Holiday, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
A coworker shared this recipe with me almost 20 years ago and I lost it. I am so glad to find it here! The graham crumbs give the pb filling a Reese's like texture. This recipe is so much better than the pb and confectioners sugar alone. For those who had difficulty dipping, you can purchase a dipping loop in the candy section of your craft store, it makes dipping easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
This is the recipe my Mama & I always make! The graham crackers cut down on the sweetness of other Buckeye recipes and, in my opinion, the texture they provide remind me of Reese's Cups! We always use the Gulf Wax (brand)/paraffin wax, too, instead of shortening. It makes the chocolate a little harder & alot more shiny! You usually find it in the canning section of the grocery store; where you'll find Sure-Jell, canning jars, etc. :) TIPS: 1). Either buy a box of graham cracker crumbs or use a processor to FINELY grind them. It's best not to have big chunks (if you can help it, but they're still gonna be good either way!) 2). BEFORE you dip them, put the balls on a cookie sheet, put a toothpick in each one and FREEZE them for about 20-30 min. It will make them easier to dip. Even if you don't use the toothpicks, still freeze them instead if just refrigerating them. It gives you more working time. And it's best just to take a dozen or so out at a time, get those dipped, then take out some more. (Unless you're really fast, which I am not!) :p Hope the tips help those who had "dipping issues"! :) EVERYONE always says these are the best Buckeyes they've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Spectacular! Great for entertaining as they add a definate gloss to the holiday table. These are so much better with the graham cracker crumbs versus without. Crunchy and sweet. It can get tricky if the chocolate gets too hot, as the peanut butter can start to melt and get into the chocolate sauce. If this starts to happen, remove the chocolate from the double boiler for a half a minute or so and replace. They are addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2001
Very tasty, lots of compliments when brought to parties.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Not a good Buckeye recipe as far as ease of chocolate covering.Followed the recipe to the letter. Buckeyes would not release from fork nor would they stay on a toothpick when attempting to dip in chocolate. Cannot present these in public as is. Will go back to my old recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
These are awesome. Best buckeyes I have tasted. Love the graham crackers! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States