Buckeyes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Very yummy peanut butter balls. I used about 1/4 cup crunchy peanut butter with the rest creamy. For some reason I could not get these dipped in the chocolate properly, but I do not think this was related to the recipe or directions - I just think it was not my day for dipping! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Photo by cofourcade
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Very nice recipe! Love it and it was very popular with everybody who tried them. I followed the recipe exactly and had no problems, it was pretty easy to make. I will definitely be making them again, and again, and again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cofourcade

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Paris, Île-De-France, France
Living In: Darmstadt, Hessen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
This is the ONLY Buckeye recipe I use because not only does it taste better with the graham crackers, it also doesn't use tons of confectioner's sugar. Once you've tried this version, you will wonder how you ever made them with all that sugar! I double this recipe and make smaller balls as they get heavy on the toothpick when you dip/coat them in the semi-sweet melted chips. This recipe has become a family tradition with my own family and now my extended family. I can't show up for the big Christmas gathering without it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Norwich, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
Great! Just like we made them when I was little. Only difference is that we use gulf wax instead of shortening. GO BUCKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Ohio, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
I made these for Christmas and they went before any of the other cookies that I made. I used half cruncy peanut butter and half smooth. I did have to freeze them before I dipped them in the chocolate mixture. Also, I increased the amount of graham cracker crumbs to 3/4 cup. They are difficult and sticky to roll, but well worth it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
Spectacular! Great for entertaining as they add a definate gloss to the holiday table. These are so much better with the graham cracker crumbs versus without. Crunchy and sweet. It can get tricky if the chocolate gets too hot, as the peanut butter can start to melt and get into the chocolate sauce. If this starts to happen, remove the chocolate from the double boiler for a half a minute or so and replace. They are addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2006
A coworker shared this recipe with me almost 20 years ago and I lost it. I am so glad to find it here! The graham crumbs give the pb filling a Reese's like texture. This recipe is so much better than the pb and confectioners sugar alone. For those who had difficulty dipping, you can purchase a dipping loop in the candy section of your craft store, it makes dipping easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Akron, Ohio, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2006
Made these the first time this Christmas and had trouble keeping them around long. My family started hoarding them. There is a little bit of a trick trying to coat them in the chocolate and not having them fall off the fork/toothpick/ chopstick - but well worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Penfield, New York, USA
Living In: Irondequoit, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2006
This was my second time making buckeyes, and I think I prefer this recipe with the graham cracker crumbs in them. They seemed to hold their shape a bit better. I did have to put them in the freezer prior to dipping. Not sure I am entirely crazy about buckeyes, but if you like them then this is a good recipe for them. Very rich, make small balls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHAEL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
These turned out really well. They were one the most delicious desserts I made this holiday season. However, I did think that they were one of the most difficult. You have to be really careful with the temperature of the chocolate as well as how long you leave it in the melted chocolate. I had the problem of leaving it into long - trying to coat it completely- and the chocolate would melt. But in the end they turned out great and were very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States