Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2011
I used 2 cups of peanut butter. I also added 1 recipe of failed unset caramel candy goop to the mixture and they are fabulous! I had to play with the mixture to get it perfect but it rolled well and was not supper sticky as most people said. Use mini chocolate morsels as they melt much faster and smoother than the others. Keep the heat on low so it doesn't dry out or over cook the chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
I've had these all my life while living in Ohio but after moving to N.C. I couldn't find anyone who knew what they were. I make this recipe every year for my family and friends here and they LOVE them....now to just keep myself from eating them all before the guests arrive ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
My mom used to make these every Christmas, so this year I tried them. I'm really glad I read the other reviews because I cut the amount of powdered sugar to 4 cups, and I almost wish I had cut more. They turned out really good, but I think next time I will add more peanut butter and less regular butter. Just not enough peanut butter taste for me. Someone suggested to put powdered sugar on your palms when rolling the balls, that worked so well for them to stay smooth and not too sticky to handle, and I added a bit of crisco to my chocolate, that helped when dipping. Also make sure you don't make them too big (as I did) they will almost be too much, you want a one bite kind of size.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by traci

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is the best tasting buckeye recipe I've ever come across! My only challenges: prep time is much longer than 15 minutes! Even rolling the peanut butter mixture into larger balls, it still took a great deal of time--and I did not double the recipe. I used my Kitchenaid mixer without difficulty, and the peanut butter mix was easy to roll, even when not cold. The peanut butter mixture is so delicious, my kids want to eat it without the chocolate, so I stuck some in the freezer--they will eat them straight out of the freezer! These buckeyes don't stay as firm as most--I keep mine in the refrigerator if we don't eat them right away. But the peanut butter mix is so much more moist and creamy than some buckeyes I've had that are dry and crumbly. It melts in your mouth! Using the slow cooker for the chocolate really worked--but I added an extra cup of chocolate chips so I had plenty to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kinde, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
I like to follow my grandmother's recipe, I believe it's much better. 2 cups chunky peanut butter (18 oz jar) 3 cups powdered sugar 1/4 lb. salted butter (1 stick) 3 cups Rice Krispies 1/4 of one stick of paraffin food wax 12 oz. bag of semi sweet chocolate chips. 1. Put Rice Krispies in a gallon zip lock bag and proceed to break them down about half way with a rolling pin. 2. Cream together peanut butter and butter in a mixer. Then add Rice Krispies and powdered sugar. Don't over mix! 3. Chill "dough" in freezer for about 30 min. or until consistency hardens and can form balls that hold their shape. 4. While your "dough" is chilling, melt chocolate chips and wax in a double broiler. 5. After dough is chilled enough, start forming little balls about an inch or a little bigger in diameter. Dip the balls in to melted chocolate and place on wax paper. (it may be easier to chill the dough, then form balls and chill them again for easier dipping.) Place balls in fridge after wards to chill. Then, WALLAH! You just crafted some mighty fine tasting balls that are so good, they'll make you want to do a little dance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Great recipes and very easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Holy Sweetness Batman! VERY sweet. Easy recipe. I wish I would have read the reviews before making to get the heads up on cutting back on sugar. Overall good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
This was my first time making buckeyes and they turned out great. I used 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter and 1 cup crunchy because that's all I had on hand and it was perfect. They still had a creamy texture, but with a little bit of crunch...just perfect. It was a little time consuming and messy to dip each ball in the choc mixture with a toothpick. Next time I'll just toss it in the bowl of choc and fish it out with a fork. These were great and worth the time. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These are always a hit at my parties and events! They have been a family favorite ever since I can remember. The only difference is that I usually dip the entire peanutbutter ball into te chocolate - yum! Also, a fantastic tip for when melting the chocolate: add some Parawax (you can find it at any big grocery store franchises) to the chocolate when it's melting. And don't add any shortening/butter. The Parawax is perfectly safe to eat and it helps prevent the chocolate from melting in your fingers from being at room temp. You would use about 4oz of Parawax for 12oz of chocolate chips. Try it out! (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
add a "well drained cherry" to the center of the peanut butter ball. Special Christmas candy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bemidji, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Poland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 485) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States