Buckeyes I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2013
This worked out great. The mixture started to look crumbly at 4 cups of sugar, so I stopped there. If you want help with the chocolate, I usually add 1 tbs for every cup of chips. This helps thin the chocolate a little and also helps it melt so you can get a better and easier coating. I also recommend using a crockpot instead of a double boiler, if you can. It's an easier process and you are less likely to burn yourself. For the reviewer who ended up with a sticky mixture, you may have melted your butter. It's important that you only soften it. Melted butter means the mixture will be runnier and therefor sticky. To fix this, try freezing the mixture for 30 mins. If that fails, add more sugar to thicken the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
Way too sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
Two things. We used an all natural peanut butter (Kirkland natural PB, creamy) and they were super bland until we added a generous amount of salt: probably about 2 TBSP. So for any of you out there who, like me, care about the hydrogenated nature of JIF, Skippy, etc. PBs but still love sugary, buttery peanut butter chocolate goodness.... don't forget to taste the peanut butter mixture before rolling and freezing! The second point: I used a little more than 5 cups of sugar instead of the full 6. I really don't think THAT much sugar is necessary, but to each his/her own. These are seriously delicious - everyone who ate them said that they were like a way more delicious version of Reese's cups. I made sure to take the balls out of the freezer once the chocolate was nice and hot, and had almost no trouble with dipping. I added a bit of canola/olive/grapeseed blend oil to my chocolate at one point, which didn't seem to affect the taste at all. I used parchment paper and aluminum instead of wax, and both seem to work okay as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Delicious - just like Grandma used to make. Have to make them peanut free due to an allergy in the house - not as good as real PB, but fulfills my annual holiday buckeye craving. To make them safe for peanut allergy suffers - use sunflower seed butter (sunbutter brand is peanut free) instead of peanut butter and hershey meltable wafers (many chocolate chips/wafers are cross contaminated with peanuts but in my area hershey chips and wafers are safe - always double check labels as manufacturing varies by location). The wafers melt nicely in the microwave, reduce power and stir every minute or so until melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
I love the dough in this recipe. The pb is so sweet! YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I love this recipe!! It's a new treat I make every holiday season...and it's a big hit! I made a change this year..2 cups of peanut butter and 5 cups of conf sugar . It's just a little softer and you can freeze the balls for a longer amount of time to firm up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Excellent cookies. If you add a bit of paraffin wax to the chocolate it is easier to dip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
Good recipe, here is a tip though....once you add ingredients and blend you need to refrigerate the dough until it's hard, it is far too sticky to roll into balls. Otherwise its great and they taste delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
A old fashion technique is to add Paraffin to your chocolatechips and it will stick to your peanut butter balls without a problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Taste just like the buckeyes I made with my mom :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Catholic Girl

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 488) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Buckeyes I

See how to make an impressive but simple chocolate and peanut butter candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

No Bake Cookies I

These tasty no-bake cookies are made with oatmeal, peanut butter, and cocoa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States