Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2005
First time making this recipe and it was really good and easy to make! My husbands guy friends came over and ate them all! I was told that they were so good, too bad I did not get to taste them. Defiantly will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahSmile
Home Town: Santiago, Santiago Metropolitan Region, Chile
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2005
I put the balls outside in my Chicago winter weather for about 20 minutes to firm them up before dipping. If they are too hard it is hard to get a toothpick in them. Also substituting 1/3 of a bar of parafin for the shortening gives the balls glossier finish and makes them easier to handle. Adding dried dates to the peanut butter mix makes them extra yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2005
Excellent recipe. Since I buy my confectioners sugar in large quantities I will note for others 1 lb confectioners sugar equals 3 and one half cups. I like to make this recipe using 3 and one quarter cups confectioners sugar. The mixmaster really expedites the binding of the ingredients. Also I used the chocolate candy making disks at craft and grocery stores, formed the one inch balls on wax paper on a cookie sheet and put the cookie sheet into my freezer for 30 minutes . I use a long wooden skewer (shishkabob type) or a toothpick for dipping the cold dough balls and they turned out very well. Very professional looking. With the disks they can also easily be made with semi sweet or white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
228 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2005
Extremely yummy! However, I do have a few comments... I'm not sure why the butter has to be melted. I think it would be better to have the butter softened at room temperature - it would make it easier to cream with the sugar for a smoother result. And, then, I don't know what I did right/wrong/or different than anyone else, but I found the dough was just the right consistency after mixing it all together... without chilling in the refrigerator. And, forget using a toothpick! Save yourself the frustration - the rolled ball, after being dipped in chocolate, is too 'heavy' to stay on a toothpick. I ended up using my fingers along with tongs. After rolling the balls, I flattened the bottoms before dipping them in the chocolate, which made them easier to keep in place on wax paper. My first batch rolled all over when I picked up the tray to move to the refrigerator for chilling. All in all, a great recipe... a bit time consuming with the rolling and dipping, but well worth it! My hubby and 10-year old son both gave it a thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I must have done something wrong because I couldn't get it to set up enough to make balls and hold on to the toothpick so I could dip them in the chocolate. They had good flavor but I had to add more conf. sugar and a litte more peanut butter to get the batter to firm up. I might give them a try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2005
My husband has an Aunt who makes these during the holidays, I wasn't sure if I could find a recipe that would compare, but these were even better!!! We loved them! They are a keeper!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Springfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Just like mom used to make! I dip mine completely, in melted Hershey bars, and I always get asked to make them for parties. They make lovely gifts for teachers, etc. when you wrap them in pretty foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
FANTASTIC!! Everyone loved them. I've made them many times with different recipes and this was by far the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELISSASUE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Great recipe! Very sweet and a great consistency. This was the first time I have ever made Buckeyes so I think I made a mistake adding the melted butter directly to the powdered sugar because I had little bits of pure sugar and butter. I will definitely use this recipe in the future! Since my first batch, I have found that if you cream together the peanut butter and powdered sugar before adding the butter it makes it easier to get the butter to mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Absolutely perfect! I didn't use all of the chocolate the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States