Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
WOW!!!!!!!!!!!! This recipe is sensational. I thought they were a little sweet but great texture and very smooth!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
I read the recipe wrong and melted the butter with the peanut butter. When I mixed the powder sugar into the melted mixture I was left with what resembled a crumb top. I added one and a half more cups of peanut butter to the mixture. Everything came together and tasted great. I brought these buckeyes to work and had a lot of rave reviews. Thanks for a great recipe even though I had to tweak it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Storm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Visalia, California, USA
Living In: Oskaloosa, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I make 12 doz. of them every year and they still don't last long. Everyone loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
OUT OF THIS WORLD!! I followed the tip of using 3 cups of powdered sugar. These were disappeared much faster than they should have! This recipe is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Thanks to everyone who reviewed before me, they were a snap to put together, have great consistency and taste absolutely delicious! First of all, I don't know if anyone else has done this, but I used crunchy peanut butter instead of creamy. It was definitely great! (and I didn't have to add anything extra to get the crunch. :) And, thanks to previous reviewers, I creamed together the sugar & peanut butter before mixing in the room-temperature butter (not melted). After adding the butter and mixing around a couple times with my spoon, I put the spoon on the counter and mixed with my hands!! It creamed super fast and well! Then, I rolled the dough into balls and set on wax paper (I put the wax paper in a 16 X 20 pan) and put a toothpick in them before sticking them in the freezer for 15 minutes (which was plenty of time for them to harden). And I don't have a double boiler, so I melted the chocolate chips in the microwave and just made sure I stirred every 30 seconds for the first minute and 1/2, and then every 15 seconds for the next 45 seconds (because they can burn very easily in the microwave). I did have to put the chocolate back in the microwave about 4 times because it kept getting hard. I dipped half the balls in semi-sweet, and half of them in semi-sweet/butterscotch mix. I like the semi-sweet/butterscotch mix, and my husband likes the semi-sweet. So, we're satisfied! I hope these tips help some people, because I think mine turned out just fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
113 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I make these often. Have cut the receipe down because they make so many, I make the balls after I blend the mixture, Then I insert a sturdy toothpick into them and then I put them in the freezer for thirty minutes. This makes the toothpick strong so when you cover in chocolate the toothpick is firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cape Cod, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
I remember these as a child on the Easy Coast and couldn't wait to make them for the holidays. I followed others' suggestions, mixing in 3 cups of sugar 1 at a time (with my hands). I also used the micorwave to melt the chocolate and it was fine. I was very lucky and didn't have to refridgerate before forming the balls. EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
These came out very tasty, but I had trouble dipping them. They kept sliding off the toothpick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Peoria, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2006
Great recipe. The whole office loved them! I will be making them again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
These are the best buckeyes!! The peanut butter mixture is not overly sweet but it IS super creamy!!! (I use 3 cups of powered sugar) Everyone loves them!! I do always seem to use more milk chocolate chips and butter flavored shortening than called for (doesn't hurt my feelings) Thanks for the AWESOME recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States