Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Awesome recipe. I have made these the past three Christmases... THIS recipe. They come out PERFECT. I have no trouble dipping them because I put them into the freezer on a cookie sheet for an hour or so before I dip them. They're nice and hard, and dip very well. EVERYONE in my family will absolutely revolt if I do not make these at Christmas... now a Christmas MUST for us... a TRADITION!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
DELICIOUS WITH EVERYTHING CAPS! :D Thanks for the awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ilovecooking!!!

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dover, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2011
Delicious! I used Imperial Margarine instead of butter because that is what I had on hand. I used 3 1/2 cups of confectioners sugar and I just realized while writing this that I somehow missed the 1 teaspoon of vanilla extract but don't feel that it needed it because they were delicious without it. I softened the margarine a bit in the microwave before mixing it with the sugar and peanut butter and it all mixed together well. It was firm so I found it easier to mix it all together with my hands, kneeding it like dough. Immediately after mixing it, I rolled it into 1 inch balls and placed them on a cookie sheet lined with waxed paper then put them in the fridge for 1 hour. I used Nestle milk chocolate morsels instead of semisweet and I used my double boiler to melt the chocolate chips and shortening and stuck a toothpick in the balls and dipped them in the chocolate. It was a bit of a pain to get rid of the holes the toothpicks made but all in all this was a very easy recipe and the end results were excellent! I didn't have any problems with my balls crumbling or falling apart. My daughter said they taste like Reese's Peanut Butter Cups only way better!! Thank you for this wonderful recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Waukegan, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I am a lover of all things Ohio, peanut butter and chocolate. Buckeyes get my vote X3. This recipe and I are best friends. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sidney, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made these as per the recipe except I decreased the sugar to 3 cups. They turned out perfect and everyone loved them.... including ME. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maggie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monterey, California, USA
Living In: Seaside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2010
These are so yummy! My only thing is that they are SO sweet... that I can only eat one! Otherwise, I'd make myself sick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hayward, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
This is the exact recipe that I use.....I always use better quality peanut butter. The off-brands are too oily. I also measure the confectioners' sugar - I use 3 1/2 cups (almost 1 lb.) Freeze the rolled balls for at least and hour and they will stay on the toothpick when dipping. Freeze again on parchment paper lined cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2010
This recipe was amazing. It tasted just like the ones we get in VT, except it cost $4 for 2 dozen instead of $24. I adjusted the measurements since it was a small crowd. This was very time consuming and I found it difficult to get the chocolate to stick without loosing the peanut butter in the chocolate. Once i find a better tool for dipping, I probably will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Maspeth, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2010
I make these every christmas at the request of my 6 year old daughter. It use to be a pain to get the balls dipped in the choc. until I stuck them in the freezer for several hours and sometimes overnight. I also use a 1 -2 quart crockpot to melt my choc. and wax/shortening,much easier. I do not like mine dry so I use just enough sugar to bind and then use a cookie scoop to shape them they are really creamy this way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sherrie Massey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2010
peanut butter mix was too soft. i'll definitely add more powdered sugar or use less peanut butter next time! but overall, these were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karissalynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States