Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I have made these since childhood, they are so good, well worth the work. Easy, but time consuming. My recipe is basically this one, but instead of shortening, I use shaved paraffin wax. I can't tell you how much, because I eyeball it. It is just enough to make the chocolate shiny and make it stick to the chilled peanut butter ball. Too much and the chocolate gets waxy. I like to dunk the entire ball in chocolate, then after refrigeration, go back w/a toothpick dipped in chocolate close up the tiny hole left by the toothpick from the first time around of dipping. It is a little more work, but makes them so much prettier. ***Also the quality of the ingredients matter. If you are using for gifts, it is best to splurge and use real butter, good quality chocolate and peanut butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
super yummy. I like these much better than the cheater buckeyes my family makes. They just mix peanut butter and vanilla icing for the middle. I think the middle of these are so much more rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
These turned out great! I won a baking contest at work with this recipe. Thanks for the free lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jdstarcz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northbrook, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
This recipe has never failed me yet in years of using it. If you mix correctly and allow to cool in the fridge long enough, you should have no problem at all shaping and the balls holding their form. Also, these make very silky peanut butter fudge bites for the chocolate haters in your family. Be sure to keep the finished balls refrigerated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MandaSuthrnChf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gatlinburg, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
my bunch loves these...I doubled the recipe tonight & instead of getting 72, I got 101 (I used a small melon scoop)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Effingham, Illinois, USA
Living In: Hamilton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
This was the easiest & best tasting of all the Peanut Butter Ball recipies. I've tried at least 4 others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leslijo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Wylie, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stharpe81
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Love this recipe...made these for a few people and now I have almost 8 request to make these...I myself am not a chocolate and peanut butter fan but let's just now I love the two together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stharpe81

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hollow Rock, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Huntingdon, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
good, sweet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
OMG! Sooooooooooooooooooo delicious! Peanut butter and chocolate is the best combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv_2_Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
Just finished making these in the form of small eggs for Easter. Quite sweet, but very tasty. Followed the recipe as written, except that I put the shaped balls of peanut butter filling in the freezer rather than the refrigerator for the chilling step. Didn't use toothpicks for the dipping step as I thought the size of treat I made would have just been too awkward and heavy for a mere toothpick. Dipped them individually and used a fork to scoop them out of the chocolate dip and transfer to wax paper. The filling was very easy to handle, didn't crumble at all. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States