Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2004
Just like mom used to make! I dip mine completely, in melted Hershey bars, and I always get asked to make them for parties. They make lovely gifts for teachers, etc. when you wrap them in pretty foil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYTHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2004
FANTASTIC!! Everyone loved them. I've made them many times with different recipes and this was by far the best.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ELISSASUE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2004
Great recipe! Very sweet and a great consistency. This was the first time I have ever made Buckeyes so I think I made a mistake adding the melted butter directly to the powdered sugar because I had little bits of pure sugar and butter. I will definitely use this recipe in the future! Since my first batch, I have found that if you cream together the peanut butter and powdered sugar before adding the butter it makes it easier to get the butter to mix in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Absolutely perfect! I didn't use all of the chocolate the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I was extremely frustrated with this recipe. I could not get the right consistency to make the balls, and keep them together. They would just crumble even before getting them into the chocalate, what a mess. I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of butter to get it right. I reviewed others comments and no one seemed to have this problem. I have no idea what I did wrong but hopefully the extra butter will fix the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
OMG!!! These are a winner! My friends and family are begging for more. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I love these things. This recipe is perfect. Just make sure the peanut butter mix is well-refridgerated before rolling and dipping them in the chocolate, because they'll fall right off the toothpick and start a mess. It is difficult to make them as pretty as they are when store-bought, but they're just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These are kind of a pain to make... hard to get the chocolate on them, but boy are they tasty! Especially after a few days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I'm not sure if maybe I measured something wrong, but the consistency of these didn't really work. Since they were good I will try making them again, but with a bit more powdered sugar to make them harder. After putting them in the fridge for a few hours I took them out to roll them into balls, and they practically melted in my hands! I put them in the fridge for an hour after that, then tried to dip them. By the time I had done five they were too soft, so I put the dough in the freezer for an hour. FINALLY I was able to dip them. The flavor is wonderful, and they are otherwise great! I took them to a bake sale and they were the first ones sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
*Just like my Mom used to make! These are so delicious, and the recipe is quick and easy......I used milk chocolate chips, and I didn't have tooth picks, so I just did it the messy way and dipped them by hand. Everyone loved them!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States