Buckeye Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2004
Absolutely perfect! I didn't use all of the chocolate the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STEFANY21
Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2003
I was extremely frustrated with this recipe. I could not get the right consistency to make the balls, and keep them together. They would just crumble even before getting them into the chocalate, what a mess. I had to add an additional 1/2 cup of butter to get it right. I reviewed others comments and no one seemed to have this problem. I have no idea what I did wrong but hopefully the extra butter will fix the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
OMG!!! These are a winner! My friends and family are begging for more. Great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2003
I love these things. This recipe is perfect. Just make sure the peanut butter mix is well-refridgerated before rolling and dipping them in the chocolate, because they'll fall right off the toothpick and start a mess. It is difficult to make them as pretty as they are when store-bought, but they're just as tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2002
These are kind of a pain to make... hard to get the chocolate on them, but boy are they tasty! Especially after a few days...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MSDORKY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Islip, New York, USA
Living In: Portola Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2002
I'm not sure if maybe I measured something wrong, but the consistency of these didn't really work. Since they were good I will try making them again, but with a bit more powdered sugar to make them harder. After putting them in the fridge for a few hours I took them out to roll them into balls, and they practically melted in my hands! I put them in the fridge for an hour after that, then tried to dip them. By the time I had done five they were too soft, so I put the dough in the freezer for an hour. FINALLY I was able to dip them. The flavor is wonderful, and they are otherwise great! I took them to a bake sale and they were the first ones sold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hagerstown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2002
*Just like my Mom used to make! These are so delicious, and the recipe is quick and easy......I used milk chocolate chips, and I didn't have tooth picks, so I just did it the messy way and dipped them by hand. Everyone loved them!*
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2002
I also used the Dark Chocolate Disks and found it much easier to do. I don't have a double boiler. I bought three bags and just microwaved them! When the chocolate started to cool and harden, I jsut remicrowaved it. Worked like a charm! Also, a tip for the crumbling. REALLY refrigerate them before you dip and right before you dip, give them a quick roll and squeeze in your hands. Out of the two batches I made, I had one break on me!!! Great recipe-my work finshed all two batches in 15 minutes!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Camp Hill, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2001
I think I would prefer these with milk chocolate instead of semi-sweet chips, or a 50/50 mixture of the two. The inside was easy to make, but dipping in chocolate was a little difficult since I don't have a double-broiler. I couldn't get the coating thin enough on the balls, so the coating came out a little heavier than I would have liked. But that's just my problem, the recipe was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Trumbull, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
Everbody really liked them. They taste like peanutbutter bon bons and look professional. A good candy gift.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States