Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2005
I LOVE this recipe! I've made this recipe several times, and my favorite way to make them is to double the recipe, press the peanut butter part in a 9 x 9 glass pan, pour the melted chocolate over top, refrigerate, and then cut into small squares when thoroughly chilled. It saves the time of forming each ball and dipping them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
696 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
I made this for the Ohio State football game last Saturday. I read most of the reviews and here are my tips. Only use 3 cups of powdered sugar if you don't sift it. Only add 1 cup at a time. The first cup you can use with a spoon, but the second and third cups use your hands it is so much easier. Then after you roll them into balls, put the tooth picks in and then put them in the fridge. I just melted the chocolate in the microwave (in a plastic container with a lid setting on top) because it is so much easier and quicker. Just do it 30 seconds at a time until melted. Then you dip the balls in the chocolate leaving a little of the peanut butter showing at the top so it looks like a real buckeye nut. Do not cover the entire ball with chocolate. If you don't like the tooth pick hole showing, just smooth it with your finger. But honestly these are so delicious, who cares if there is a tooth pick hole. Hope these tips help. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
486 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
Wonderful but don't do as I did and make the mistake of not knowing that 4 cups of "sifted" sugar is much less than 4 cups of actual sugar right out of the box. I had to double my other ingredients to make it come out right. Stupidity on my part! But they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
419 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Russellville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Florence, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2005
This is perfect! Here's the scoop on them being dry. You need to very carefully measure your ingredients. What I do is put all the powdered sugar except for the last cup. Mix it all together and slowly add the last cup of powdered sugar if needed. This will ensure that you get the perfect rollable texture each and every time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LEXI70

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mansfield, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shelby, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
This is a great recipe. But I did cut the sugar down as suggested. I also upped the Peanut butter by a 1/2 cup for a more peanutty taste. I have made these every Christmas for the past 10 years. I also roll them place them on a cookie sheet and then stick the toothpick in the middle and freeze them. When the milk chocolate is melted, easy to dip, and to cover the toothpick hole, I dip my finger in water and rub over to hole. Seals up very quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2002
These were Awesome! Anyone that loves peanutbutter will love these! And they are relatively easy to make. Can be a little time consuming having to roll each one however, i've made far more time consuming candies that don't taste half as good as this. This is a really simple recipe to follow also. After I rolled them into balls, I froze them for about 30min and they were very easy to dump a few in a time into my bowl of melted chocolate and fish out with a fork. I then froze them again to get them to set and packaged them up in their containers and now they sit in my frigerator ready to be given out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
This is the best buckeye recipe i have ever made. I have read all the reviews. Do not pack down the powdered sugar!! lightly put the powdered sugar in the cup and level it off. The dough was not dry. GO BUCKS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2006
Why didn't I listen??? Four cups (sifted) was way too much sugar. Mine were very dry and crumbly. I used Jif and blue bonnet if that helps anyone. I'll definitely try again with 3 cups of sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2005
All I can say is WOW!!!!! These are the best I have ever tasted!!! Even better than the bakery down the road that is noted for them(Just had one yesterday so I would have something to compare it to). I did change a few things though, I did decrease the 10x sugar to three cups like some other reviews had suggested, and I used milk chocolate instead of semi sweet. I also decreased the shortening by half and used a full pound of chocolate. Better to be safe than sorry!!! Thanks Allison!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These turned out absolutely perfect. I used my small cookie scoop to make uniform balls. I froze my balls for an hour or so before dipping them in the melted chocolate. Very simple for me to make with little hands and the boys can't keep their hands off of them. They tell me this is their new favorite recipe. Better than Reese's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 553) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States