Buckeye Balls II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
We have the nut allergy in our house, so I've learned to tweek many recipes, this being one. I used Sunbutter in place of the peanutbutter. I used 2 tsp of vanilla. I also used all 4 cups of confectioners sugar as directed. I read many reviews and they almost all said that was too much and made the mix much too dry. Knowing that Sunbutter was much thinner than peanutbutter, I was confident that 4 cups would be perfect, but still mixed in the first three, then added the last cup. After rolling the balls and placing them on wax paper, I put them in the freezer for more then an hour to assure they were chilled. I melted an entire bag of Nestle milk chocolate chips, no butter and dipped completely. I then drizzled with butterscotch chips. They taste delish and look beautiful:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmberG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
So easy to make! Finally, my favorite Christmastime treat made available anytime! :D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AngelVoice23

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anaheim, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2011
This was my first time making buckeye balls, and they were perfect! Phenomenal recipe. Will be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by boogerzombie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
these are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
These turned out absolutely perfect. I used my small cookie scoop to make uniform balls. I froze my balls for an hour or so before dipping them in the melted chocolate. Very simple for me to make with little hands and the boys can't keep their hands off of them. They tell me this is their new favorite recipe. Better than Reese's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dianne
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
These came out wonderful. Smooth, light and creamy filling and a chocolate mixture that is easy to work with. I made my balls smaller and ended up with about 48, so I had to double the chocolate mixture. I also recommend adding the powdered sugar slowly, because you might not need as much the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: St. Cloud, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2011
This is the first review I have aver posted on this site. These were so easy to make and so yummy!! Even my 3 yr. old helped. I made them as stated the first time and they were great. I do agree that more chocolate is needed to coat all the balls. Second time I upped the peanut butter to 2 cups and then they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
OK I have not made them yet, but this coming weekend I plan on making them and doing what I do best..!! Be creative and unique like always.. I plan on instead of using the toothpick, I'll use pretzel sticks and coat them with the chocolate..!! At the tip of the pretzel will be clear and then chocolate all the way down.. not only that, I may just use white chocolate to dip them in.. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
Buckeyes are amazing. This recipe needs tweaks to make amazing buckeyes, which is why I've docked a star. First, I cut the powdered sugar from 4 cups to 2 1/2 cups. I honestly think these would be inedibly sweet with four cups. Second, if the peanut butter mixture in your buckeyes are typically too soft try a "natural" peanut butter. They are thicker and less creamy (even when using the "creamy" variety). For years my buckeyes had to be kept in the fridge to be stacked or they would smush down the lower layer. Switching to a natural peanut butter solved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I made these today, tasted great. Made a few alterations... I added 3 cups non-sifted powdered sugar and a whole 18oz container of Jiffy creamy peanut butter. If you use the 1 1/2 cup of peanut butter then don't use all the sugar it will make the mix to dry and it will crumble. I also use Almond Bark (for all my chocolate coverings)instead of morsels. Melts down great and has a nice sheen when dry. Best of luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 566) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States