Buckeye Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2000
Wow! The recipe stated it made 48 buckeyes or 24 servings. It made over 300. They were very tasty, but way more than I needed and took so much time to do that many. Next time I will scale it down by at least a fifth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2000
These taste great but take time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2000
Unless your cooking these for an army, half the recipe. They taste like reeses, which I love, so they taste good, but alittle goes a long way. They are VERY sweet so make your candy balls smaller than suggested. My turned out rather messy looking but they still tasted ok.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
This was a big hit over the holidays. It has been voted in as a permanent addition to the christmas cookie list.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Fairport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2001
These represent the Buckeye State, Ohio. Everyone in Ohio makes these as a momento to this Great State. Besides, they are yummy, yummy, yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2001
This wasn't a very big hit in my household.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
I've been making this recipe every Christmas, for years. It's really easy and everyone I know loves them! I used the scaling function on the recipe and scaled back to six servings which was plenty... 12 might be good if you plan to give them as gifts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Everyone loved this recipe. We added Kelloggs Rice Krispies cereal to lighten the recipe, and add some additional texture and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Ogg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plain City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Quantity was WAY off, and I found that parafin works much better that shortening. It helps get a nice firm chocolate coating and freezes much better (if you have any left to save!) It is an exceptionally easy recipe but VERY time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
Maybe this worked for some of you, but it's the first time I've made these. The quantity was ridiculous- for an army. I used a double boiler (homemade)the chocolate never got thin enough, the peanut butter balls wouldn't hold together and use a toothpick? Huh, maybe if they were frozen instead of refrigerated. To the chocolate I added more butter, then some water, made about three dozen, threw some undipped ones away, threw the chocolate away, froze the rest of the 200 or so balls and might try some other kind of chocolate dipping sauce, or the dogs will have peanut butter treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 67) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States