Buckeye Balls I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2002
I made these several times and everybody seems to like them very much.I gave hem to all my Nabors for Christmas
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2002
these were a hit!!I used Laura Scudder's natural peanut butter it gave them the texture of reese's peanut butter cups. Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
My kids has a great time rolling the balls
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2001
I thought 4 lbs of peanut butter and 3and 1/2 lbs of confectioners sugar was a bit much so I halved the recipe and still got over 160 buckeyes. The dough was not dry enough and difficult to handle. It had to be frozen, rolled into balls and refrozen to coat the bals with the chocolate. Then I could only do 10 at a time because the dough became soft again. Thumbs down on this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
The recipe is great, however I only needed 48 but ended up with 215!!! This was a bit much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
this is a great recipe. to make the dipping part easier, i just microwaved the chocolate and shortening in a microwave safe bowl for 2 minutes. kids- and adults- love to make them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2001
Maybe this worked for some of you, but it's the first time I've made these. The quantity was ridiculous- for an army. I used a double boiler (homemade)the chocolate never got thin enough, the peanut butter balls wouldn't hold together and use a toothpick? Huh, maybe if they were frozen instead of refrigerated. To the chocolate I added more butter, then some water, made about three dozen, threw some undipped ones away, threw the chocolate away, froze the rest of the 200 or so balls and might try some other kind of chocolate dipping sauce, or the dogs will have peanut butter treats.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2001
Quantity was WAY off, and I found that parafin works much better that shortening. It helps get a nice firm chocolate coating and freezes much better (if you have any left to save!) It is an exceptionally easy recipe but VERY time consuming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
Everyone loved this recipe. We added Kelloggs Rice Krispies cereal to lighten the recipe, and add some additional texture and crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rick Ogg

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Plain City, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2001
I've been making this recipe every Christmas, for years. It's really easy and everyone I know loves them! I used the scaling function on the recipe and scaled back to six servings which was plenty... 12 might be good if you plan to give them as gifts. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VailValleyCook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edwards, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buckeye Balls II

Watch how to make this peanut butter and chocolate candy.

Buckeye Cookies III

See how to make easy peanut butter and chocolate cookies.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States