Bucket of Mud Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
I have made this recipe many times. The only difference in my version, is to use chocolate pudding. I use a clear glass bowl and place gummy worms along the edge and on top for added effect. Children love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
This is the old DIRT PUDDING recipe, except I layer the cookie crumbs w/ pudding mixture until u end w/ cookie crumbs to look like "dirt." You can put gummy worms or chocolate mushrooms on top, still fil in a bucket & serve w/ shovel. It's a great recipe I have been making for over 30 yrs!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by REEKAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manhattan, New York, USA
Living In: Freehold, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
The first time I had this, (it was called "dirt" then), I was visiting my parents and at supper, there was a flower pot in the middle of the table with plastic flowers in it. When we were finished eating, Dad said, "Ready for dessert?" Then he took a spoon and started dipping out the "dirt" in the flower pot. I was shocked for a minute until I realized what it was. Dad had great fun pulling that joke on us. This is very delicious too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
This is a classic and especially fun for spring and summer time groups! I have made this with my boys a few times and they love it. Like another user posted I also like to use chocolate pudding! It's delicious and fun even though the name is rather gross. And finding the worms in the mud is kind of exciting. I like to fold a few (gummy) worms into the mud, and strategically place some on the top poking out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LSBUI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2010
a friend of mine made this for a church potluck once and put gummy worms in the top. It was a great hit with the kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I have made dirt for years and placed the mixture in a terra cotta pot and placed a bouquet of silk flowers in it with gummy worms and bugs crawling around the flowers. We used a new garden shovel for the spoon. I also used chocolate pudding to make it mud colored! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
I used two boxes of Jello brand Oreo pudding. I also added a small box of sugar free vanilla pudding to make it a little thicker. I lined the bottom of my pan with whole oreos instead of making the crust. I added whipped topping and cream cheese to the pudding mixture and then spread over the cookies. I topped that with broken cookies, then a layer of whipped topping, then another layer of cookies. I used 1.5 packages of oreos in all. YUMMY! Very thick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RachelReed

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Made this for a 4th of July picnic in a small beach bucket. It was such a HUGE hit! The kids can't get enough of this and the adults went for seconds too! My kids had a blast helping me make "the mud". I see this as a new tradition for us! Thanks for sharing!l FYI: I would even taste good added to an oreo cookie or graham pie crust and served as a pudding type pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
this stuff is sooooo yummy ! gailybean you are very mean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pringle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
My children love this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Mud Pie

See how to make an awesome frozen pie with plenty of fudge sauce!

Party Pinwheels

Cream cheese and savory goodies roll up in tortillas for easy appetizer bites.

Spring Mini Cheesecake

These individual desserts are as fun as they are delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States