Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2011
This one is kind of a pain to make BUT so very worth the effort! Use fresh eggs, and be sure to refrigerate to keep that "eggy" taste away. We like to add more sugar to the frosting to sweeten it up a bit as it can be quite powerfully cocoa tasting. Decorating this cake is a fun holiday tradition for us. We like to dust it with confectioners sugar to make it look like snow, but don't do that until you're ready to present/serve it as it will get a bit clumpy and not as attractive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
I have made this 3 times. Frankly, this is better than ANY other version of a Buche de Noel that I've ever tried. The cake is so delicate, and the mousse is to die for. Everyone loves this cake when I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cboz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I made this two years ago and it was not only delicious but beautiful!!! I had forgotten where I had this recipe...so glad I found it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JakesLady

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sellersburg, Indiana, USA
Living In: Jeffersonville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe, it was so like and yummy tasting. The only thing that I didn't like is that the cake was so thin after you rolled it. I would have liked a thicker cake portion. So the next time that I make this I will be making 2 cakes and try rolling them together to see if that better. The one thing that I did was I iced it with a chocolate icing from a can, I won't be doing that again as it make the cake waaay to sweet for some.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gilly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
I made this for Christmas this year and the entire family loved it. My husband said it was the best dessert I had EVER made. I have to admit, however, that I was skeptical when I took it out of the oven..it seemed so thin, but it rolled up nicely. I scored it with a fork to make it look like a log. I only dusted it with powdered sugar added a few candied cherries for decoration. If you like chocolate, keep the recipe as is. It would be wonderful for anyone who has celiac disease, as it is gluten free. I know my family now expects this every year for Christmas!! Now it's Easter...and my family want "the Buche" back..now, it's "Buche de Pacques"...I omitted the cocoa powder in the filling..so it was just vanilla. Then, I made more whipped cream and frosted the whole log and decorated with peeps and jelly beans on the side. It was awesome! Lighter and not as chocolatey as the Christmas version. "Best dessert in 20 years of marriage" raved my husband!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
i tried it, i followed the direction and the outcome is very good.it is my first time to make this kind of cake though i observed my french mother-in-law when she makes a buche de noel. i surely recommend this recipe^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mejaresivy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
This recipe was fairly easy -- BUT -- I used my kitchenaid mixer on high to beat the egg yolks (5mins) & then the egg whites (3+mins), individually of course. It was simple to put it all together just sooo time consuming. Beat the eggs forever, (i only have one mixing bowl - so transfer yolk mixture, wash & beat egg whites, fold mixture together carefully to not lose any air, bake, roll, cool, fill, cool, frost, cool - refrigerate... It was definitely worth it for an added dessert at Xmas Eve dinner, but for me this recipe is going to be reserved for Xmas & possibly Easter.... any possibly upon special request. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katelovesbaking
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this two days ago for the holidays. Incredible outcome! For anyone who has had trouble, make sure to follow all of the instructions AND the hints on the allrecipes page for this recipe. Remember, baking is a SCIENCE. There is NO FLOUR in this recipe! If you aren't getting the desired outcome, you are probably not beating the egg yolks/whites long enough. If there is no flour in something you are going to need to whip more air into the eggs to make the cake fluffy in the oven. Also make sure to let it cool a little bit before you try to roll it. The cake needs to set/solidify. Make sure to grease your pan, and make sure to use parchment paper and a towel coated in powdered sugar! Just basic hints, here, folks. If you care to see how mine turned out, click on the "Photos" and check for katelovesbaking's photo, its toward the end. :) For the mushrooms, I googled for a meringue mushroom recipe. It's very easy. I used a ziplock bag to pipe my meringue. For the green and red holly leaves/berries, my mum took gum drops and rolled them flat, and then used a knife to cut out the shapes! Good luck and have fun baking! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelovesbaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I am French and when I was young my mom always purchased a log for Christmas. Living in the US now it is difficult for me to find a pastry shop who makes it and it is usually very expensive. This recipe was so easy to follow and the result was "delicieux". My mom was ver impressed and could not believe I had made it myself. Thank you. I will recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for our dinner club Christmas Party. It took me a couple of tries to get it right, but it was a hit. I used some of the helpful hint from other folks including really whipping the egg whites (6 plus minutes on highest speed), and greasing the pan and parchment paper well. Fun cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States