Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
I made this for a Christmas dessert because I have a daughter who is gluten free. It was delicious but took too much time for me. I like something easy, but my daughter loved it. I would make it again if she wanted it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
Great recipe for a traditional holiday dessert that's sure to impress. Try it--you'll surprise yourself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
WOW!!! Thank you so much for leading me to Kitchen Success with a jelly-roll cake!!! I have tried for years unsuccessfully and this time it actually came out perfect!!! I will hold on to this recipe as my base and have fun experimenting with new flavors and fillings! Thank you so much--it was a Christmas Kitchen Miracle!!!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
I thought this was a great "first timer" recipe. I have never made this before and felt that it was pretty easy. There is no recipe for the "icing" or the Meringue Mushrooms so I had to go on a search for that, but honestly this was a very light and yummy dessert. I omitted the cocoa from the whipped cream and left it subtly sweet. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katrinangel2

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by klove radio
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Great recipe, very chocolatey cake. Followed the recipe exactly, pretty easy to prepare. And very close to the "real" buche de noel in France. Will definitely make this recipe again... Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was incredibly good. Could some one tell me if I could use round cake pans to make this a year round confection. My family is in love with this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Delicious and quite easy to make. I made this for Christmas Eve and everyone loved it. It takes like a mousse cake. I took another reviewers advice and beat the hell out of the yolks-until it looked liked melted butter. I used the whipped cream for filling and had plenty to frost the cake. I decorated with fresh cranberries and mint leaves to resemble holly. Turned out delicious and very pretty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My family was stunned when they saw the Buche. Not only were they shocked at how pretty it was but they were amazed at how great it tasted. I made a cocoa buttercream frosting to go with it. The cake is so rich that it probably doesn't need it, although it does help with the looks. Perfect luxury for the gluten free folks in your life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I've always wanted to make one of these. It came out great. Very tasty - no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I agree with those who suggested spraying the parchment paper. It does help. That said, the product was extremely difficult to roll -- it kept cracking. The refrigeration helped keep it all together...and my family raved about it. While I swore I'd never make it again due to dealing with the cracking, I may change my mind after the family feedback and tasting it myself. It truly is a fine holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States