Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Wow..this was excellent! Everyone loved it....my new favorite cake! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by savories
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Made this for Christmas eve and it was a huge success. I took a tip from another reviewer and rolled it with a silpat mat, fabulous. Made meringue mushrooms to decorate it. It did crack while I was rolling but I was able to hide it with the cream. I found the cream a bit too 'cocoa' and next time will use melted semisweet chocolate for the cream. I will definitely make this cake again as it was light and meltingly delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POUKALA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this twice over the Christmas hoiday. The first time I did, I did not pay attention to rolling the warm cake so it was actually quite cooled prior to rolling, but it was easy and did not crack. The advise on heavy sugar on the towel in great, especially with the warm cake. I did not heavy whipping cream, so I filled the cake with items I had on hand: homemade buttercream frosting for the inside, canned chocolate for the outside. This cake was a HUGE success with my family, who all love sweets! For the second cake, I did purchase whipping cream, which I used to fill the inside as well as the outside, sice there was so much of it.(pic sent). This one was less sweet, but still delicious. I sprinkled both with powdered sugar, for effect, but wait until serving for that since it dissolves into the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
For some reason, I was intrigued by the idea of making a yule log this year. When I came across this recipe, I figured I would go for it. I'm so glad that I did! This cake was much easier to make than I thought it would be. I used a silicon baking mat for the cake and rolled it onto parchment paper. After filling it, I topped the cake with chocolate ganache. It looked great and tasted even better. This will be a new tradition in my house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I took this yule log to a Christmas gathering last year and was asked to bring it again this year. It sounds intimidating, but really isn't that hard. Last year I turned the cake out on to a tea towel, which worked pretty well, until it came time to do the laundry...then I had to deal with dried pieces of chocolate cake stuck all over the towel. This year I had the brilliant idea of using my silicone baking mat instead of the towel to roll the cake for cooling. It worked! I dusted it with confectioner's sugar as suggested for the towel. The cake came off perfectly and no weird laundry! I iced the outside with the extra filling, made holly leaves and berries out of red and green "fruit slice" candy and put them on top of snow made from some of the filling recipe I saved before adding the cocoa. This recipe makes me look like an expert baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Delicious and a fun way to incorporate traditions from other countries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Wow, this was so tasty! Thanks to 1. the reviewers who recommended spraying the parchment paper with non-stick spray, 2. the reviewer who emphasized the importance of beating the eggs enough, 3. the reviewer who suggested rolling out gumdrops to make holly leaves, and 4. the reviewer who suggested using a fork to make lines that looked like tree bark. My bûche turned out like a work of art! And did I mention it was really tasty? Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2007
The recipe sounded intimidating but it was surprisingly easy. The cake was fabulous, everyone complimented me on it. Parchment paper is a requirement for this recipe. I sprayed it with PAM for Baking and the cake practically slid off the paper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2007
I made this cake for a competition in my french class. I coated it in chocolate frosting, then made the frosting darker and made little swirls and lines, so it would look like a real log. Then I attached a decorative tip to the frosting applicator to make a bunch of little leaves, and made bunches of litle cherries. After all that, I lightly dusted it with powdered sugar. It was sooooooo yummy and I got 2nd place for decoration!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Anoosheh
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2007
It was delicious and looked great. Maybe the next time I use half of the filling to spread on the sponge cake and te other half as frosting with confectioner sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States