Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
In gathering up my Christmas dessert recipes, I simply cannot wait to make this again this year. For those who have not tried this, PLEASE--make this dessert! It is easy and fun--and the end results are spectacular! Everyone will think you spend DAYS making this! As an extra, I toasted some coconut and placed it on the bottom of the plate to look like snowy soil. In addition, I did use fork tines to make the frosting look like tree bark. This is an impressive dessert!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by me
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
absolutely wonderful....i made it for my husbands christmas luncheon at work...it was used as a table center piece. he said no one attempted to cut it because it looked so nice, they were very happy when he got the knife....it went so fast he didn't even get a piece. i will make 2 next year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
We love this cake. It takes a little effort, but is well worth it if you like to take pictures of your food before you eat it like me. It's not too sweet and the filling is so light. I do add a little extra 10X sugar to stiffen it up. Decorate to your hearts desire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by go away

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
Wow..this was excellent! Everyone loved it....my new favorite cake! =]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Hanson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by savories
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2008
Made this for Christmas eve and it was a huge success. I took a tip from another reviewer and rolled it with a silpat mat, fabulous. Made meringue mushrooms to decorate it. It did crack while I was rolling but I was able to hide it with the cream. I found the cream a bit too 'cocoa' and next time will use melted semisweet chocolate for the cream. I will definitely make this cake again as it was light and meltingly delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by POUKALA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2007
I made this twice over the Christmas hoiday. The first time I did, I did not pay attention to rolling the warm cake so it was actually quite cooled prior to rolling, but it was easy and did not crack. The advise on heavy sugar on the towel in great, especially with the warm cake. I did not heavy whipping cream, so I filled the cake with items I had on hand: homemade buttercream frosting for the inside, canned chocolate for the outside. This cake was a HUGE success with my family, who all love sweets! For the second cake, I did purchase whipping cream, which I used to fill the inside as well as the outside, sice there was so much of it.(pic sent). This one was less sweet, but still delicious. I sprinkled both with powdered sugar, for effect, but wait until serving for that since it dissolves into the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
For some reason, I was intrigued by the idea of making a yule log this year. When I came across this recipe, I figured I would go for it. I'm so glad that I did! This cake was much easier to make than I thought it would be. I used a silicon baking mat for the cake and rolled it onto parchment paper. After filling it, I topped the cake with chocolate ganache. It looked great and tasted even better. This will be a new tradition in my house! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
I took this yule log to a Christmas gathering last year and was asked to bring it again this year. It sounds intimidating, but really isn't that hard. Last year I turned the cake out on to a tea towel, which worked pretty well, until it came time to do the laundry...then I had to deal with dried pieces of chocolate cake stuck all over the towel. This year I had the brilliant idea of using my silicone baking mat instead of the towel to roll the cake for cooling. It worked! I dusted it with confectioner's sugar as suggested for the towel. The cake came off perfectly and no weird laundry! I iced the outside with the extra filling, made holly leaves and berries out of red and green "fruit slice" candy and put them on top of snow made from some of the filling recipe I saved before adding the cocoa. This recipe makes me look like an expert baker!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
Delicious and a fun way to incorporate traditions from other countries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Wow, this was so tasty! Thanks to 1. the reviewers who recommended spraying the parchment paper with non-stick spray, 2. the reviewer who emphasized the importance of beating the eggs enough, 3. the reviewer who suggested rolling out gumdrops to make holly leaves, and 4. the reviewer who suggested using a fork to make lines that looked like tree bark. My bûche turned out like a work of art! And did I mention it was really tasty? Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
170 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States