Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Really good and pretty easy-- the advice on mixing the yolk mixture for 5 minutes is the key. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Adams
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just made my first Buche de Noel, and it was incredibly fun! It is the most creative dessert I've ever tried, and the decorating was delightful. The bits and pieces I "tasted" along the way prove the whole thing will be a tremendous success at today's Christmas dinner. I added a chocolate granache to the outside and striated it with a fork to make it look like a real log. Also used holly leaves and some branches from a fir tree to decorate with maraschino cherries. The whole thing looks so elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Adams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this with a quarter cup of sugar in the egg yolks, and it was perfect. One of the guests said, "This is better than restaurant quality." I also made a dairy free version by whipping soft tofu instead of cream, and not frosting it. Marzipan mushrooms and shelf fungus perfected it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I love making this! I like to put strawberry jelly in the middle occasionally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
OMG! I have just tested this recipe. It is truly divine. Dark, rich and very moist. I am going to make another one for christmas day. I highly recommend the Buche de Noel. Have fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Wow! This turned out perfect! I am not a pro, but I had 3 people ask me if they could hire me to make it for them. I frosted to look like a log. Added fondant holly. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is outstanding! The chocolate filling is soooo rich and tasty. Easy to do also as long as you use the parchment paper in the pan and follow instructions. Don't dust it until JUST before serving as I found the powdered sugar just dissolved into it otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne of Jemez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrisdivyak
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
this was my first attempt at making a Buche de Noel and it came out perfect! The cake is not too sweet and compliments the filling very well. It has been a hit with everyone and goes really well with meringue mushrooms as accents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phoenix
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This cake was, in my opinion, amazing. I had never made a buche de noel before, so I was excited and a little nervous, but it came out very well! It makes a fair amount, and the chocolate whipped cream is delicious! My parents' only complaint was that the cake was a bit eggy, which might have just been my fault, we'll see next time. I also made marzipan mushrooms to go with the cake. ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
So good and so surprisingly easy! I did make a double batch of filling and use some to frost my cake - it just added to the presentation and, after all, you can never have too much chocolate whipped cream. It was a huge success at my Christmas Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Belgrade Lakes, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States