Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Wow! This turned out perfect! I am not a pro, but I had 3 people ask me if they could hire me to make it for them. I frosted to look like a log. Added fondant holly. Beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PEGT2865

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
This is outstanding! The chocolate filling is soooo rich and tasty. Easy to do also as long as you use the parchment paper in the pan and follow instructions. Don't dust it until JUST before serving as I found the powdered sugar just dissolved into it otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynne of Jemez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by chrisdivyak
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
this was my first attempt at making a Buche de Noel and it came out perfect! The cake is not too sweet and compliments the filling very well. It has been a hit with everyone and goes really well with meringue mushrooms as accents.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by phoenix
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
This cake was, in my opinion, amazing. I had never made a buche de noel before, so I was excited and a little nervous, but it came out very well! It makes a fair amount, and the chocolate whipped cream is delicious! My parents' only complaint was that the cake was a bit eggy, which might have just been my fault, we'll see next time. I also made marzipan mushrooms to go with the cake. ^-^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2010
So good and so surprisingly easy! I did make a double batch of filling and use some to frost my cake - it just added to the presentation and, after all, you can never have too much chocolate whipped cream. It was a huge success at my Christmas Eve dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Belgrade Lakes, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
This came out wonderful! Everyone was in awe of the mushrooms I made and everyone loved the taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2010
It took quite a bit of time but it was well worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
This was a great recipe, and thanks to the tips about over dusting the towel and whipping the eggs to oblivion, mine turned out wonderful. Some comments I got were: "this is the best cake I've had", "this cake is gorgeous and yummy". It was rich for sure, but very delicious. I will make this again as it was not very difficult at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
Fun recipe and tasty. I used truffles and candy cane stubs to form mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2010
Turned out not bad... the filling was kinda runny but was still good... I think next time I'm gonna use more sugar, the icing was a little bitter...good overall
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States