Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by katelovesbaking
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this two days ago for the holidays. Incredible outcome! For anyone who has had trouble, make sure to follow all of the instructions AND the hints on the allrecipes page for this recipe. Remember, baking is a SCIENCE. There is NO FLOUR in this recipe! If you aren't getting the desired outcome, you are probably not beating the egg yolks/whites long enough. If there is no flour in something you are going to need to whip more air into the eggs to make the cake fluffy in the oven. Also make sure to let it cool a little bit before you try to roll it. The cake needs to set/solidify. Make sure to grease your pan, and make sure to use parchment paper and a towel coated in powdered sugar! Just basic hints, here, folks. If you care to see how mine turned out, click on the "Photos" and check for katelovesbaking's photo, its toward the end. :) For the mushrooms, I googled for a meringue mushroom recipe. It's very easy. I used a ziplock bag to pipe my meringue. For the green and red holly leaves/berries, my mum took gum drops and rolled them flat, and then used a knife to cut out the shapes! Good luck and have fun baking! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelovesbaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I am French and when I was young my mom always purchased a log for Christmas. Living in the US now it is difficult for me to find a pastry shop who makes it and it is usually very expensive. This recipe was so easy to follow and the result was "delicieux". My mom was ver impressed and could not believe I had made it myself. Thank you. I will recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made this for our dinner club Christmas Party. It took me a couple of tries to get it right, but it was a hit. I used some of the helpful hint from other folks including really whipping the egg whites (6 plus minutes on highest speed), and greasing the pan and parchment paper well. Fun cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
It wasn't all that difficult and the results were outstanding! Just remember the basic whipping rules; eggs at room temp, whites without a drop of yolk or grease, yolk beaten till lemon yellow, and your cream should be ice cold. Watch that time on the cake. I pulled it out at exactly 12 mins. I frosted mine with "Chocolate Ganache" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Oh. My. Word. Richest chocolate cake I've ever had. LOVED. This is our family's new Christmas tradition. Forget pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by corhen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Really a great recipie, it puffed up nicely, and looks amazing, 5/5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corhen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
A fabulous cake for Christmas day! I decorated it with toasted marshmallow mushrooms. Definitely delicious and memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Hmmm, I am an experienced baker and I have made this cake in years past, but this did not turn out for me. The cake was very thin and ripped and could not be used. Not sure what I did wrong - I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Really good and pretty easy-- the advice on mixing the yolk mixture for 5 minutes is the key. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Adams
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just made my first Buche de Noel, and it was incredibly fun! It is the most creative dessert I've ever tried, and the decorating was delightful. The bits and pieces I "tasted" along the way prove the whole thing will be a tremendous success at today's Christmas dinner. I added a chocolate granache to the outside and striated it with a fork to make it look like a real log. Also used holly leaves and some branches from a fir tree to decorate with maraschino cherries. The whole thing looks so elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Adams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States