Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
A lovely and decorative dessert. Everyone enjoyed it and my son wants it to be part of every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
Just made this for the second year in a row and it turned out spectacularly again. I change nothing about the preparation. To decorate, I save some extra mousse and ice the buche with it. I cut a section and lay it at an angle rather then try to get it to stand up. Following a previous suggestion, I score the mousse with a fork to give the appearance of a log. I use red, white and green gum drops for decor. The white ones I stick on toothpicks for the mushrooms and the green ones I flatten and cut into holly leaves. Another triumph! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was great!! I'm so excited at how well this came out. I just tried to make a buche noel with a cake mix doctor recipe and it cracked in a bunch of places and wouldn't roll, a major disappointing disaster. So I tried this one and it was perfect! No cracks looked great. I followed other suggestions, I buttered the jelly roll and parchment (but I'm sure pan is good too), made sure egg whites were very stiff (5min), and I cooled the cake about 5 min before turning out of pan but ran the knife around the edge right away. I used a sifter to dust the towel with. This recipe was great and even more gratifying after having one fail. Oh, since my family isn't into rich desserts I used plain whip cream with brandy mixed in for the filling and chocolate for the outside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This was the start of my Christmas Afternoon Tea! I was nervous about rolling up a cake but it was easy because I let it cool in the pan for 10 mins before flipping it out onto a well- covered powder sugar coated dish towel! I also followed the advice of other reviewers and sprayed the parchment liberally with non-stick spray and made sure the yolks were mixed for a full 5 minutes. For a cake filled with whipped cream it is a decadent and rich dessert, the slices I served were only 1 inch thick and that was plenty. I also used the recipe for Meringue Mushrooms on this site to decorate it. For a final touch I cut one end off at 45 degrees to make the "nub" of the log and I ran a fork through the frosting to make it look like bark.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah B

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Purple Baker
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This yule log was decadent! The cake itself wasn't so sweet, but when frosted with chocolate butter cream, it became very rich. The cake part cracked when I unrolled it from the towel, but no one noticed after I filled and frosted it. I halved the whipped cream portion of the recipe, but I barely had enough. Next time I'll use 1 1/2 c. whipping cream. This was so delicious, and I'll definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Purple Baker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was my first attempt at a yule log, and it was a success! I had to use an 11x17 pan, so the log ended up being longer and thinner. However, it looks great! I followed the directions to a T and it turned out wonderfully. I was nervous about rolling it off onto a towel, as I had never done so before, but it turned out great. I will use this again for the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jnnyknny

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rebecca101
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
This was my first attempt at a buche de Noel, and I have to say this recipe was pretty easy. Followed the recipe as written and it turned out great. I will say there was too much filling. I didn't use nearly all of it and I still wish I had put less inside the cake. I did not use the filling as frosting either. I did a deep chocolate buttercream frosting, made some frosting holly leaves and berries, and made mushrooms out of marzipan. It really looked great if I do say so myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca101

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
This is very yummy. I followed a reviewer's suggestion to whip the dickens out of the yolks, as well as the whites, to get as much air into them as possible, and you could tell that it worked as it looked like it was going to overflow the pan as it baked! But all remained within. It did reduce to a fairly normal height as it came out of the oven. It was easy to roll. I opted to roll it along the long side instead of the short (so as to have as long a log as possible) but this only gave it a 4-5" diameter, so more or a branch. LOL But still, it was the full 15" long of my pan. I was running low on heavy cream, so modified that and simply folded it into a whipped chocolate buttercream. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Meklenschek

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Amazing!!! This did not last long in our house. Came out perfect!!! Love that it is gluten/Flour free!!! Will be making this alot. Thank you for this recipe :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
it was great! yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 175) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States