Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
My family was stunned when they saw the Buche. Not only were they shocked at how pretty it was but they were amazed at how great it tasted. I made a cocoa buttercream frosting to go with it. The cake is so rich that it probably doesn't need it, although it does help with the looks. Perfect luxury for the gluten free folks in your life.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I've always wanted to make one of these. It came out great. Very tasty - no leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is absolutely delicious. I agree with those who suggested spraying the parchment paper. It does help. That said, the product was extremely difficult to roll -- it kept cracking. The refrigeration helped keep it all together...and my family raved about it. While I swore I'd never make it again due to dealing with the cracking, I may change my mind after the family feedback and tasting it myself. It truly is a fine holiday treat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cuddlebugs333
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This cake was a little extra work, but really fabulous and everyone loved it. I didn't frost mine, and I feel like it would have been too sweet if I had. I dusted the towel with confectioner's sugar (very generously) before turning the cake onto it AND dusted the cake before rolling. It kind of looked like a birch log when I finished, so I cut a piece of copy paper into narrow triangular strips, laid them across the cake and gave it an extra dusting of confectioner's sugar. I also added some extra striations with a vegetable peeler. I've uploaded the picture to share. This one might become a yearly tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cuddlebugs333

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
Super easy recipe, and it comes out great, I've done it 2 years in a row now. But, last year I thought the chocolate whipped cream filling was too chocolatey, so I would back off the cocoa there just a bit. Also, I used Whip-It whipped cream stabilizer, and it holds up really well, even at room temp (accidentally left it on the counter all last night).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
I prefer the other roll up recipes to this one. Just too rich for any of us. Maybe with a non-chocolate filling it would have been better. Too bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Webster City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
This was very tasty. However, unless you already have 3 "large bowls" suitable for mixing, you have some hassle with washing bowls and transferring e.g. the whipped cream mixture to a medium bowl so you can re-use the bowl for another step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
I used to have this back home when I was a kid, and I wanted to start this tradition again, OMG it was a hit, going to make it for many years to come, glad I spared the parchment paper...again thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
Lots of ways to hide your mistakes (and I made a lot, even dropping the cake and rescuing it just before it hit the floor). Happily there was more than sufficient filling to "ice" cake. Clutch marks couldn't be seen. I added a sprig of holly with red berries. Very pretty. Guests all loved it. Four stars only because it's such a pain to assemble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
A lovely and decorative dessert. Everyone enjoyed it and my son wants it to be part of every Christmas from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brockton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States