Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Made this for our Christmas dinner. It turned out perfectly. I garnished it with the Meringue Mushrooms (fount that recipe here). We used to buy it from the local French patisserie for $35. Won't have to do that again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
Nice! I didn't have heavy cream so I used all buttercream frosting which made it a little heavy. I made sure to beat the egg yolks until pale which was 5 minutes. Next time I'll spray the parchment with cooking spray as the cake did stick a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NOELLER67

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ZOINKS
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2012
FAIL PROOF ... but Wow was it LABOR INTENSIVE!!!! I think when decorating I went overboard and simpler is better. You also need a really nice platter which I didn't have. Haven't eaten it yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Although it tastes great ( very rich), it was very labor intensive, especially if you only have a hand mixer. I had to do the egg white mixer twice because I couldn't get the consistency right and ended up adding 3/4 teaspoon of cream of tartar. The cake was veryyy thin, but at least the whole cake is covered in frosting so it doesn't matter if there are cracks. I also needed to make 2 of the frostings because one wasn't enough to fill the cake and ice the top. Although tasty, not sure if I would use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
This is a great recipe - intense to make the first time but if you follow instructions correctly, it turns out beautifully. My family is French/French canadian and my grandmother always made the buche. She is too old now and so I took on the job. This isn't the same as what she made but my family loved the new cake. Thanks for the updated version of an old tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by greytmommy
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
This recipe was great and super easy to do! I made a few changes to fit our tastes. We did vanilla whipped cream for the center instead of chocolate. And to frost the outside I did a dark chocolate ganache. I used a fork to make lines in the chocolate to make it look like bark, put it on a bed of green colored coconut (grass) and topped it with sifted powdered sugar for snow. It was so pretty, and the ganache was very pretty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
I made this for a Christmas brunch and, oh, my goodness, was it a hit! The recipe is easy to follow and turned out perfectly. I did follow the suggestion to frost the outside with buttercream icing. Thank you Tyra; this is a real winner! Peggy2012
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
Read the reviews and took the suggestions and this was perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Raven4793
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I have just finished making this recipe, and to say it was a disaster is an understatement. This was my first try at making a cake from scratch I admit, but I've made much harder things than a cake. Considering the amount of mess just prepping I was hoping this would be a delicious cake, but instead I have a pile of chocolate frosting with some cake scattered throughout.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 174) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States