Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
It wasn't all that difficult and the results were outstanding! Just remember the basic whipping rules; eggs at room temp, whites without a drop of yolk or grease, yolk beaten till lemon yellow, and your cream should be ice cold. Watch that time on the cake. I pulled it out at exactly 12 mins. I frosted mine with "Chocolate Ganache" from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by perla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Oh. My. Word. Richest chocolate cake I've ever had. LOVED. This is our family's new Christmas tradition. Forget pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by corhen
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Really a great recipie, it puffed up nicely, and looks amazing, 5/5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corhen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
A fabulous cake for Christmas day! I decorated it with toasted marshmallow mushrooms. Definitely delicious and memorable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Hmmm, I am an experienced baker and I have made this cake in years past, but this did not turn out for me. The cake was very thin and ripped and could not be used. Not sure what I did wrong - I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Really good and pretty easy-- the advice on mixing the yolk mixture for 5 minutes is the key. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Adams
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Just made my first Buche de Noel, and it was incredibly fun! It is the most creative dessert I've ever tried, and the decorating was delightful. The bits and pieces I "tasted" along the way prove the whole thing will be a tremendous success at today's Christmas dinner. I added a chocolate granache to the outside and striated it with a fork to make it look like a real log. Also used holly leaves and some branches from a fir tree to decorate with maraschino cherries. The whole thing looks so elegant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Adams

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cromwell, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Middletown, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I made this with a quarter cup of sugar in the egg yolks, and it was perfect. One of the guests said, "This is better than restaurant quality." I also made a dairy free version by whipping soft tofu instead of cream, and not frosting it. Marzipan mushrooms and shelf fungus perfected it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I love making this! I like to put strawberry jelly in the middle occasionally!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
OMG! I have just tested this recipe. It is truly divine. Dark, rich and very moist. I am going to make another one for christmas day. I highly recommend the Buche de Noel. Have fun
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 181) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States