Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Maegan Stanley
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2015
This is truly an impressive recipe! Mine came out perfect! As my high school's French Club President, I made this for this year's French National Honor Society inductions. Since it is April, I made a "spring" version, and decorated it with spice drop roses instead of powdered sugar. I made sure to really beat the eggs, which sucked because I have an electric hand mixer and not a standing one, so my biceps really got a workout! I realized that someone had packed away my old jelly roll pan so I went to Publix really quickly and bought a cheap foil cookie sheet with the correct dimensions that worked beautifully (and with no mess!). I lined it with parchment paper greased with Pam ( I still had to tug a bit to remove the paper). When I rolled it, I dusted the towel with powdered sugar as well as the other side of the cake because I was suspicious of the "wetness" of the freshly baked cake and didn't want any sticking. It didn't stick. I frosted the outside of the cake with store-bought fudge frosting to appeal to kids' sweet tooths, and colored the leftover cream filling with green food coloring. It turned a mossy color because of the cocoa powder darkening it, and I spread it around my cake to disguise the plastic tray and give it a grassy feel. I made a stump by cutting off a small angled piece and gluing it to the top with frosting as well. I also trimmed a small slice off the other end so that the pretty spiral is visible and clean-cut. Then I used fork tines
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maegan Stanley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2015
I think this recipe was delicious but it was a lot of chocolate even for this chocoholic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clay Walters

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2015
This recipe is SUPER DELICIOUS! I think everyone would have eaten the whole thing if they could...seriously! Only a few quick tips: 1) Make a bit more filling, and use it to ice the log. I just added 1/2 cup more cream, and 1/4 cup more sugar, along with a tablespoon or so of Hershey's chocolate syrup:) 2) I'm only 12, and have a hard time separating the eggs, so here's an easy trick I like to use;) When separating the egg yolks, crack the egg onto a saucer, and use the rubber top of a baster (or a clean empty water bottle if you don't have one, don't worry if it looks a little smaller than the yolk), squeeze and sort of suction cup it on to the yolk. Then release. The yolk will have squeezed into it! Wait for all of the white to come back out, and then squeeze the yolk into the bowl. 3) When you're about to blend the eggs and sugar, make superfine sugar by sticking it in the blender on high for about 30 sec. It dissolves easier;) I gotta go now, We're having guests tonight, and I'm making another one of these!!! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by L. michele
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
Everyone loved this Yule log. The center was so creamy. I did ice the cake Using the frosting recipe from the Hersey cocoa box and decorated with powdered sugar, meringue mushrooms and sugar butterflies . The presentation was fabulous and festive
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2015
Very good but use an 11 x 17 jelly roll pan or half-sheet pan - this makes too much batter and filling for a 10 x 13 - will overflow and make it more difficult to get it out of the pan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ken Barrows

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2014
I did it for Christmas this year and everyone enjoyed it. It was a big winner! I had a request to do it again tonight for New Year eve. I will post pics later this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Okay first of all you really need to take a lot of the other reviewers advice. Made this twice, first time did not turn out well. Second time it came out perfect. You really need to beat the egg yolks for at least 6 minutes. The more you beat them the more air will get into them. The chocolate whipped cream was a major plus. I also added chopped walnuts before rolling. If you don't beat the eggs long enough the cake will not be spongy and light. Thank you for an incredible recipe !!! And thanks to the all recipe folks for the how to video. I would never have taken on the challenge if it wasn't for the video. Well done !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sean P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Photo by keg0002
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly fur the cake and filling. My log did crack a little upon the rolling and did it get stuck to the towel even with a lot of powdered sugar sprinkled. I just picked up the pieces and put it back on the cake. Not a big deal once you cover it with some chocolate frosting. I added some melting chocolate chunks from a another tutorial I saw on a blog to give it the a bark like effect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
I found the cake very easy to prepare, but rather bland. I used Chef John's chocolate mousse recipe for the filling instead of the chocolate whipped cream in the recipe, and that helped make it a bit more substantial. Topped it with chocolate ganache. It looks more impressive then it tastes, but looks REALLY impressive, if you do it right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by HappyChef
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Last year I paid $45 for a store bought Buche de Noel. This year I made my own following this easy recipe and our Christmas dessert was even better than last year's! I took the advice of other reviewers and beat the heck out of the eggs for about 6 minutes and generously sprayed the pan and parchment paper with Pam, which is super important. For the frosting I added a 1/2 cup of melted semi-sweet chocolate chips and a tablespoon of Rum just so it was a little darker than the inside frosting. It was a definite hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 187) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

Chef John's Chocolate Decadence

Relive the 80's with Chef John's "flourless" chocolate cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States