Buche de Noel Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2005
I made this for my daughter's French class Christmas fete. Yes it is alot of work but worth it. I followed other tips like beating the egg yolks a good 5 minutes, greasing the parchment paper very well and I put quite a bit of powdered sugar on the dish towel before rolling. I had enough of the mousse left over to decorate. Here's what I did and it was beautiful (will post a photo later). I cut one end of the log (about 4") at an angle. Frost the sides, top and bottom and use some mousse to "glue" on the stump (piece cut off earlier) then frost the stump as well except for the top. Next run fork tines across the log and upward on the stump so you have ridges like a log. Then dust with powdered sugar and decorate with holly or mistletoe or pine sprigs. I also made mushrooms from chocate truffles stuck onto a piece of broken candy cane rubbed with chocolate, and dipped in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
234 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2004
This cake received applause at our Christmas dinner. And, it should have. After all, my mother and I had to make it twice. Let me explain. You MUST BEAT the egg yolks and sugar until they are very pale. For all of you Texas Aggies out there, BTHO the egg yolks. Let the electric mixer run at the highest speed for at least 5 minutes. Because this cake contains no rising agents like baking powder or yeast, its "fluffy-ness" depends upon the amount of air that you "BEAT" into it - hence the stiff egg whites and the pulverized egg yolks. We decorated the cake with whipping cream and homemade mushrooms (hershey kisses and small marshmallows on toothpicks - with red gel polka dots).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Wow, this was so tasty! Thanks to 1. the reviewers who recommended spraying the parchment paper with non-stick spray, 2. the reviewer who emphasized the importance of beating the eggs enough, 3. the reviewer who suggested rolling out gumdrops to make holly leaves, and 4. the reviewer who suggested using a fork to make lines that looked like tree bark. My bûche turned out like a work of art! And did I mention it was really tasty? Wow!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
This recipe was delicious. Only thing I do have to recommend is to spray the parchment paper, otherwise you will never get it off....highly recommend this recipe to anyone, and it may become a new christmas tradition in our house...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2002
This recipe was easier than I had thought. The cake is dense and wonderfully chocolaty and chocolate whipped cream.....how can you go wrong. Made this for my Mom's birthday and it was thoroughly enjoyed. Try this recipe...you won't regret it. (Make sure you let the cake cool at least 10 minutes before turning it out on the towel)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katelovesbaking
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
I made this two days ago for the holidays. Incredible outcome! For anyone who has had trouble, make sure to follow all of the instructions AND the hints on the allrecipes page for this recipe. Remember, baking is a SCIENCE. There is NO FLOUR in this recipe! If you aren't getting the desired outcome, you are probably not beating the egg yolks/whites long enough. If there is no flour in something you are going to need to whip more air into the eggs to make the cake fluffy in the oven. Also make sure to let it cool a little bit before you try to roll it. The cake needs to set/solidify. Make sure to grease your pan, and make sure to use parchment paper and a towel coated in powdered sugar! Just basic hints, here, folks. If you care to see how mine turned out, click on the "Photos" and check for katelovesbaking's photo, its toward the end. :) For the mushrooms, I googled for a meringue mushroom recipe. It's very easy. I used a ziplock bag to pipe my meringue. For the green and red holly leaves/berries, my mum took gum drops and rolled them flat, and then used a knife to cut out the shapes! Good luck and have fun baking! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katelovesbaking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2002
Very rich, but who cares!!! When serving, after dushing with powder sugar, we topped ours off with sliverd almonds, but could also try shaved chocolate. We experienced the cake sticking to the dishtowel, so will dust heavier next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Watertown, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2002
Like a chocolate omelete with whipped cream. This recipe was identical to a recipe in one of my cook books except the flour was missing in this one....wanted to try with all the good reviews...But this was NOT what I hoped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 25, 2002
This recipe was very, VERY rich. I did some adjusting on the cream to make it a bit sweeter. I found it to be much too rich for my taste, but everyone else found this recipe to be a delight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Clara, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2001
I made this cake with both chocolate and plain whipped cream and liked it with plain better. I took it to many holiday events and it was a huge hit each time! Don't be afraid to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 171) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Buche de Noel

See how to make a beautifully delicious Yule log for Christmas.

Chocolate Pot De Crème

Make a fancy, grown-up version of an old favorite--chocolate pudding.

German Chocolate Cake Frosting II

See how to make a warm German cake frosting with pecans and coconut.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States